Icewind Dale Revisited - GameBanshee Feature

funcroc

http://www.gamebanshee.com/news/static/EEZ...lFAfHizlhBY.php

GB: How has game development changed between your time at Black Isle Studios and Obsidian Entertainment? Do you think a party-based isometric RPG similar to the Icewind Dale games would still be a viable pursuit in today's market?

Chris: Things are a lot different now than when we worked on Icewind. The team sizes are perhaps the biggest change. We had between 24 and 32 people on Icewind, which is approximately the size of the art team on one of our projects right now. To manage out larger teams today we need more leads - and since I'm a producer this just moves me farther and farther away from the day to day creation. For me personaly, this is a big loss because that's what I enjoy the most.

I Still think IWD2 was a pretty good game... I played it through I think 3 times. I only played through IWD, once. Anyway, I liked the IWD games.

Edited by Ellester

Life is like a clam. Years of filtering crap then some bastard cracks you open and scrapes you into its damned mouth, end of story.

- Steven Erikson

IWD was fun, and cool. IWD2 was not. Kinda like TOEE. It coulda been good; but just missed the cut. Both of these games ar egames that i got deep into it ebfore I couldn't take the lack fo quality anymore.

LONG LIVE IWD1!!

P.S. Neato interviews. :o

DWARVES IN PROJECT ETERNITY = VOLOURN HAS PLEDGED $250.