Whats better, deadfire or Baldurs gate?

Hi Folks I will finish POE 1 in a few Day and now im figuring out, what game I will start next. 

Baldurs gate 1 + 2 or Deadfire. 

I started playing iso RPGs after I finished watching Game of Thrones and wanted to play a game that gives me the same feeling of experiencing a epic Story with a Group of different Charakters. 

Which would you think will be better? 

I now in this forum will probably not everyone have played Baldurs Gate but I guess most of the people who play POE will even now Baldurs Gate. 

I don't see why it need be one or the other. Since you've just played PoE1, I would suggest PoE2 to follow up. And you can (and should) play BG1&2 later on. But I can also see some people recommending the opposite because they like taking a break from what they just played. I, however, favor continuity over taking a break from something. :)

• Like 1

Given that there aren't that many good titles in the genre[*], you're likely to eventually play both Deadfire and Baldur's Gate 1 & 2 and then see for yourself which one is better, in your view. Since you've just played PoE1, Deadfire seems the obvious choice for your next game.

[*] I mean, BG1&2, PoE1&2, Pathfinder: Kingmaker and Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous just about covers it.

To me, it's very very hard to compare the games. They're basically separated by decades. BG1 & 2 are great games, but even the enhanced editions really show their age. BG1's writing is pretty torturous (a lot of faux-middle-ages dialogue), and you'll do tons of aimless wandering through identical-looking and vast, empty wilderness (i basically keep a walkthrough open so i know where to go on any map for the interesting stuff). BG2 has much better writing and better area design, but the system is just creakingly dated compared to more modern CRPGs.