Fight mechanics and lack of technical optimization are what makes me dislike the game

Hello, I started playing PoE in 2017 and completed it. I started playing Poe2 in December and overall I xperienced again the frustration related to fight mechanics, which I don't find intuitive or natural.

I can deal with most fights, though I disabled level scaling completely because I hate that in general,but some fights feel unberable and excruciating, like Mega-bosses. I have read they are intended to encourage diversifying strategies and optimizing team, but this feels really frustrating to me(I play on Veteran).

I like the  story, universe, music of the game, but the fight mechanics are what annoys me as they are too "balanced".When I played BG2, I did feel overwhelmed at times, but I had my own mechanics to counter the difficulty(using traps, summons, Carsomyr was so good).

On a technical note, I feel frustrated by the amount of fixes I had to apply to fix performance issues: disabling many settings, telemetrics, chaning settings from nvidia panel control. I had to install game again on SSD to reduce loading times. Even now I still have issues and some crashes once in a while.

• Thanks 1

Fight mechanics of the Pillars franchise are objectively better than those of the infinity games.

So I guess it's more a matter of personal preference than actual quality - which is cool with me. I also don't like certain things that are critically acclaimed or preferred by a majority. 

One has to applaud the OP for voicing their frustration in a decent manner. 👍

Edited by Boeroer
  • Thanks 1

Deadfire Community Patch: Nexus Mods

3 hours ago, Boeroer said:

Fight mechanics of the Pillars franchise are objectively better than those of the infinity games.

So I guess it's more a matter of personal preference than actual quality - which is cool with me. I also don't like certain things that are critically acclaimed or preferred by a majority.