Newbie asking for help on Cards and deckbuilding

Hi all,

I am completely new to the game and learned the game by playing the tutorial and reading the rulebook. It learned me enough to get the game going but nothing about strategy, the (best) cards and deckbuilding.

I have looked on BGG, Paizo for some guides but couldn't find it. I have no D&D or RPG experience what so ever but I like the concept :)

Some examples I have problems with:

- Which cards I have to choose for a scenario. I know it depends on the scenario but some direction would be helpfull. e.g I get to choose between "Night Watch" (giving 1D10 on Perception) or "Standard Bearer" (giving 1d6 for non-combat Strength or Constitution): not knowing how important and often these check occur it makes it hard to choose.

- If I encounter a Boone I don't know when it worth to spend an extra die on it to get it or not. And if not for Kyra, it Might be good for Merisiel

Also, English not being my native language won't help either. 

Can someone please help me in directing to a beginner's guide on the core concepts ?

Thx

Robert

Hey there.

Allies -

1 x Troubadour and 1 x Standard Bearer are good Basic choices Kyra and Merisel. I think these are good choices, because they add to multiple stats and allow you to explore.

Weapons -

for Kyra grab 2x Maces

for Mersiel grab 2 x Crossbow

Only spend blessings, allies, codexes on weapons they can use. No swords, Longbows, Polearms as neither character is proficient with those weapons yet. Also be careful when using weapons as if your character is not proficient, you will get a penalty to your dice roll.

Spells -

For Kyra start with a mix of the following:

Cure x 1

Strength x 1 this helps to boost Kyra's combat skills

Choose either Inflict wounds (for combat) or Eloquence this helps on Diplomacy/Charisma checks

Only spend blessings, allies, codexes on divine spells as this is what Kyra can use (discard) and then possibly recharge.

Armour -