Im sick of NDA's

A non-disclosure agreement (NDA), also called a confidential disclosure agreement (CDA), confidentiality agreement or secrecy agreement, is a legal contract between at least two parties which outlines confidentiality materials the parties wish to share with one another for certain purposes, but wish to restrict from generalized use. In other words, it is a contract through which the parties agree not to disclose information covered by the agreement.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-disclosure_agreement

We got some last year students at Uni (Im studying game development with a major in graphics) who are working on a commercial project which forced them to sign an NDA so theyre sitting in the room next to us but they cant say one word of what theyre doing.

Next year I might join a team who is doing some outsourced work for a German CRPG( that Im not supposed to talk about), and Ill be forced to sign an NDA aswell.

When did this extreme need for secrecy come up? Was it like this 10 years ago?

Edited by Kaftan Barlast

DISCLAIMER: Do not take what I write seriously unless it is clearly and in no uncertain terms, declared by me to be meant in a serious and non-humoristic manner. If there is no clear indication, asume the post is written in jest. This notification is meant very seriously and its purpouse is to avoid misunderstandings and the consequences thereof. Furthermore; I can not be held accountable for anything I write on these forums since the idea of taking serious responsability for my unserious actions, is an oxymoron in itself.

Important: as the following sentence contains many naughty words I warn you not to read it under any circumstances; botty, knickers, wee, erogenous zone, psychiatrist, clitoris, stockings, bosom, poetry reading, dentist, fellatio and the department of agriculture.

"I suppose outright stupidity and complete lack of taste could also be considered points of view. "