Sudden reboot woes...

Meshugger

My new computer is behaving very strangely since since my hardware update, reboots mostly while gaming, but also sometimes when watching a moive. Even though i'm a computer engineer, i can't seem to locate the origin of this error :dancing:

Specs:

- Intel Core 2 Duo e6300 (no O/C)

- 2 GB OEM DDR2 RAM (533mhz @ 1.8volts)

- MSI Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB RAM (driver version: 91.48)

- Abit Ab9 Pro (Bios version: 1.5) (Newest Intel chipset drivers)

- Onboard Realtek 882D HD audio (driver version: 1.47)

- Onboard LAN (1x for my internet connection, 1x for my local network connection with my girlfriend, newest driver from Realtek)

- Maxtor SATA 250GB (filedump)

- Maxtor ATA 80 GB (Windows, boot-device)

- A DVD-player

- A Floppy station

- Logitech cordless keyboard EX110 (the cordless mouse broke down)

- A PS2 optical mouse

- 425W PSU

- Windows XP SP2

Temps:

- CPU idle: 41 C, load: 48 C

- Case idel 33 C, load 36 C

Symptoms:

- Sudden reboot almost instantly when the game starts: Prey, Quake 4 and Doom III

- Complete random reboot(either none at all through a day, or several per hour): KotOR, KotOR II, NWN2, Bloodlines, Deus Ex + watching movies

What i've tried:

- Disabling audio completely, changing audio-drivers, updating bios for the motherboard, changing Lan-drivers, changing videocard-drivers, changing Intel chipset drivers and re-installing windows, twice.

Other wierd stuff:

- The problem seems to be at a very low level since windows doesn't manage to write anything down to its regular dump-file or registring anything at the event-viewer. Also, while rebooting after a forced crash, my bios says that both of my LAN Mac addresses are: "00-00-00-00-00-00" and it updates my DMI-pool and windows fails to start. This disappears after a manual reboot.

What i know:

- Since windows fail to log (or any game for that matter) any errors, it has to be some low-level software/hardware failure.

- It can be my LAN farking up.