Hi, i finished my first run POTD run with my vanilla wizard and now i'm looking for a second gameplay with warlock (barbarian/wizard) and i have a few questions.

I'm between a melee warlock that deals insane AoE damage with carnage and uses aoe melee spells like torrent of flame and repulsive visage, also i'd rather be using a two handed weapon or axes. Is it optimal picking Berserker as subclass? What is it current state? Should i pick any other barbarian subclass?

Second option could be a gunslinger with evoker specialization for shooting missiles. Does skills like Barbaric blow work with ranged? Is this a optimal build? It looks cool on paper.

If i  run a group with less members (i.e party with 3 characters), is there any considerable exp gain from doing that or should i stick to solo or full party?

Any tips are much well appreaciated. I have some experience with wizard but I never played Barbarian, so i dont have much knowledge about the class. I couldnt find any Warlock guide anywhere, and it looks a very interesting mix. 

Thanks in advance!

Edited by eschu101

I have been toying around with a warlock build.

If you want to go melee you really need berserker. This also pushes you in a few directions:

Infuse with vital gives smart which counteracts berserker confuse. This also drains you of level 2 spellcasts since the con inspiration you also get from frenzy.

The next option comes fairly early, Modwyr. Her intellect affliction immunity will be great, but gets overwritten when you conjure weapons. Not the end of the world, but kinda sucks if you want to use conjured weapons.

Devil of Caroc breastplate is great, but you need a fairly later game component (vithrak brain) to make yourself intellect affliction immune.

You could also use other characters or consumables to overcome the confuse.

Thing is, you really want that tenacious inspiration on your zerker, but confuse really sucks for being a hybrid caster. So many things with area and duration ..