Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Useful Tutorials and Links


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#21
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Wrong thread, apologies.


Edited by kilay, 22 July 2018 - 04:16 AM.


#22
Aurelio

Aurelio

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 480 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

 

*.*bundle files can be anywhere in your mod folder, but *.stringtable files need to be in the same folder hierarchy as the file they're overriding. E.g. to override localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable, your override file should be in override\[yourmod]\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable.

 

*note* That also means that you can not use subfolders in your mod to split texts for different purposes.

For example override\[yourmod]\blueThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable will not work.

 

I suggest using such folder names, as I will do for the enhanced ui mod:

override\[yourmod]_blueThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable

override\[yourmod]_redThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable

 

 

So how do you provided updated translations for all expansions? You have to have a mod for each expansion because you can not have the folder "exported "and "laxa_exported "in there.

 

Or do you need to put all ids from items.stringtable into the items.stringtable from exported folder?



#23
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

What's about game.globalvariablesbundle?

 

Could I override it ?

If I can, where I have to put the file ? override/mymod/design/gamedata/  ?


Edited by kilay, 24 July 2018 - 08:44 PM.


#24
BMac

BMac

    Programmer

  • Developers
  • 410 posts
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

So how do you provided updated translations for all expansions? You have to have a mod for each expansion because you can not have the folder "exported "and "laxa_exported "in there.

 

Or do you need to put all ids from items.stringtable into the items.stringtable from exported folder?

You don't need to use any different folders to mod expansion content.

 

You can think of the expansion "lax*_exported" folders as being themselves much like mods of the base game

 

What's about game.globalvariablesbundle?

 

Could I override it ?

If I can, where I have to put the file ? override/mymod/design/gamedata/  ?

You can't override the globalvariablesbundle yet, unfortunately.


  • kilay likes this

#25
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

You can't override the globalvariablesbundle yet, unfortunately.

 

Thnks for reply, i hope for a future addition, with the help of peardox i was able to trigger a script with a new variable, but ofc we have replaced the original game.globalvariablesbundle in exported/globalvariables/ with a custom one.


Edited by kilay, 25 July 2018 - 11:23 AM.


#26
Aurelio

Aurelio

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 480 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

 

So how do you provided updated translations for all expansions? You have to have a mod for each expansion because you can not have the folder "exported "and "laxa_exported "in there.

 

Or do you need to put all ids from items.stringtable into the items.stringtable from exported folder?

You don't need to use any different folders to mod expansion content.

 

You can think of the expansion "lax*_exported" folders as being themselves much like mods of the base game

 

Mabye I'm missing something here.

 

I want to create a translation mod which uses the override folder and which you can enable and disable with the mod manager.

 

So I have to create a folder structure like this:

 

override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\items.stringtable

 

 

The items.stringtable is the file from the exported folder.

 

But there is also a items.stringtable file in the laxa_exported folder. So how do I put both files into the folder: override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\

without overwriting the file?



#27
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

 

 

So how do you provided updated translations for all expansions? You have to have a mod for each expansion because you can not have the folder "exported "and "laxa_exported "in there.

 

Or do you need to put all ids from items.stringtable into the items.stringtable from exported folder?

You don't need to use any different folders to mod expansion content.

 

You can think of the expansion "lax*_exported" folders as being themselves much like mods of the base game

 

Mabye I'm missing something here.

 

I want to create a translation mod which uses the override folder and which you can enable and disable with the mod manager.

 

So I have to create a folder structure like this:

 

override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\items.stringtable

 

 

The items.stringtable is the file from the exported folder.

 

But there is also a items.stringtable file in the laxa_exported folder. So how do I put both files into the folder: override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\

without overwriting the file?

 

 

the files in laxa_exported , etc are just adding new entries there aren't present inside the item.stringtable in exported folder, so just refer to the item.stringtable override  like always



#28
Aurelio

Aurelio

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 480 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

 

Mabye I'm missing something here.

 

 

I want to create a translation mod which uses the override folder and which you can enable and disable with the mod manager.

 

So I have to create a folder structure like this:

 

override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\items.stringtable

 

 

The items.stringtable is the file from the exported folder.

 

But there is also a items.stringtable file in the laxa_exported folder. So how do I put both files into the folder: override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\

without overwriting the file?

 

 

the files in laxa_exported , etc are just adding new entries there aren't present inside the item.stringtable in exported folder, so just refer to the item.stringtable override  like always

 

 

But this means I have to merge the files into one big item.stringtable



#29
peardox

peardox

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Deadfire Backer

There is a problem with "Max" - Devs have been informed (@Cdiaz)

 

If you set "Max" to ANYTHING other than current patch you get a Version Error in Mod Manager

 

The BIG problem here is that we only need to change a few numbers to let it pass even if we've done nothing else

 

I'm not updating my mod - it requires no updates, works perfectly as is, I'm simply keeping Mod Manager happy

"Max" should be optional UNLESS there are major changes - something I check with EVERY release (nothing to report, really so far)

Just a warning for your good Mod management

 

I see no point uploading new releases to Nexus is all we change is a few digits in "Max"



#30
peardox

peardox

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Deadfire Backer

 

 

Mabye I'm missing something here.

 

 

I want to create a translation mod which uses the override folder and which you can enable and disable with the mod manager.

 

So I have to create a folder structure like this:

 

override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\items.stringtable

 

 

The items.stringtable is the file from the exported folder.

 

But there is also a items.stringtable file in the laxa_exported folder. So how do I put both files into the folder: override\[mymod]\localized\de\text\game\

without overwriting the file?

 

 

the files in laxa_exported , etc are just adding new entries there aren't present inside the item.stringtable in exported folder, so just refer to the item.stringtable override  like always

 

 

But this means I have to merge the files into one big item.stringtable

 

 

Yep + soz, that's the way it works

 

I recently asked the Devs if we could translate into Welsh (this was simply an example - not a real project)

 

The answer is yep (I have the details - PM me if you wanna do a Korean for example)

 

You have to do a FULL override and this means re-writing EVERY SINGLE line.

 

The distinction is additive Mods

 

If I only want to add "The Red Hand and Friends" I only need translations of the words I use, same goes for Convo mods

 

Simply pick a new unused ID and you're fine (Mod clash may occur so pick your numbers carefully)

 

That's the extent of language Mods

 

One of my Modder friends has done a proper Russian translation and another Italian (the originals were junky as hell I'm informed)



#31
BMac

BMac

    Programmer

  • Developers
  • 410 posts
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

the files in laxa_exported , etc are just adding new entries there aren't present inside the item.stringtable in exported folder, so just refer to the item.stringtable override  like always

But this means I have to merge the files into one big item.stringtable

Yes, that's true. That should work as expected, though it is perhaps a bit less organized. If users don't have those expansions installed, they won't see the text (since they don't have the content that references it).

"Max" should be optional UNLESS there are major changes - something I check with EVERY release (nothing to report, really so far)

Yes, we will try to take a look at this in a future version.
  • Zap Gun For Hire likes this

#32
peardox

peardox

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Deadfire Backer

 

 

*.*bundle files can be anywhere in your mod folder, but *.stringtable files need to be in the same folder hierarchy as the file they're overriding. E.g. to override localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable, your override file should be in override\[yourmod]\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable.

 

*note* That also means that you can not use subfolders in your mod to split texts for different purposes.

For example override\[yourmod]\blueThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable will not work.

 

I suggest using such folder names, as I will do for the enhanced ui mod:

override\[yourmod]_blueThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable

override\[yourmod]_redThings\localized\en\text\game\gui.stringtable

 

 

So how do you provided updated translations for all expansions? You have to have a mod for each expansion because you can not have the folder "exported "and "laxa_exported "in there.

 

Or do you need to put all ids from items.stringtable into the items.stringtable from exported folder?

 

 

I was interested in this concept as well so chose a language nobody would bother doing (Welsh)

Here's @BMac's reply
 

Yes, you can add new languages.  You just provide string tables under new language folder just as if you were modding an existing language.  You also need to include a language.xml, which you can see in the exported/localized language folders.

 

Unfortunately, you cannot do this via the override directory at the moment - you'll have to do it in the exported/localized directory.

 

If you're overriding a supported language things are diffo

You can simply replicate exported stringtables in your override directory, some of my friends have fixed some awful translations for their locality using this method

As I understand it IF we did a full Welsh (dumb example - I'm sticking to it) then overrides would also function

I'm working on building a translation team so check that thread when I post it



#33
BMac

BMac

    Programmer

  • Developers
  • 410 posts
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

Unfortunately, you cannot do this via the override directory at the moment - you'll have to do it in the exported/localized directory.


Perhaps it should be noted here that you can add new languages via override folders in v2.0.0.



#34
peardox

peardox

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Deadfire Backer

OK

 

https://poe.peardox.com/spacereq

 

Used a small bit of cryptography on this one (not much and not secure as I usually do)

This is specifically to address StringTable ID clash
 

Anyway, this provides a randomised 1024 range of numbers to you that has a minimal chance a clash

 

This is nick based and randomises so you can repeat the process is you need a different range.

 

The chance of a clash is > 2 million to 1

 

The IDs 0 to 65,535 are left for OBS while the rest is a free-for-all


  • tonpix and kilay like this

#35
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

What's about  

 

EnchantCategory

 

of Itemmods ? What are the differences and how should we use them



#36
BMac

BMac

    Programmer

  • Developers
  • 410 posts
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

EnchantCategory is essentially irrelevant in Deadfire; it's left over from Pillars 1.  The only one that matters is Quality - quality mods will remove any existing quality mods when applied.


  • kilay likes this

#37
house2fly

house2fly

    (8) Warlock

  • Members
  • 1166 posts
I was originally under the impression that an item has to have the Fine enchantment for the enchantment menu to even be available(ie for the Enchant button to appear). But some of the companions' unique items start with no quality and have to be upgraded to Fine. So what determines whether the enchantment menu appears? Is there a setting for that in the data? I've looked but didn't see anything that looked like it might fit

#38
BMac

BMac

    Programmer

  • Developers
  • 410 posts
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

In v2.0.1, an item has to be Unique, have at least one item mod on it, and not be Soulbound to be enchantable.

 

In v2.1.0, items will no longer need to be Unique to be enchanted; they'll just have to have an applicable visible recipe that can apply to them.


  • Zap Gun For Hire likes this

#39
kilay

kilay

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 524 posts

In v2.0.1, an item has to be Unique, have at least one item mod on it, and not be Soulbound to be enchantable.

 

In v2.1.0, items will no longer need to be Unique to be enchanted; they'll just have to have an applicable visible recipe that can apply to them.

 

are we able to enchant it if we satisfied any soulbound level request (last state) or do we need to make a sort of replacement like you devs did with Modwyr?
So in 2.1.0 are we able to enchant also any soulbounded weapons in each of their soulbound levels?


Edited by kilay, 16 August 2018 - 08:08 PM.


#40
house2fly

house2fly

    (8) Warlock

  • Members
  • 1166 posts
At least one itemmod! I think that's where I messed up, just tried unique items with Fine and without. Thank you for the info BMac!

Edited by house2fly, 16 August 2018 - 05:21 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users