Hello everyone, I have no experience with a paladin as my main tank and thought I'd give it a try as an alternative to the fighter I've used in my other run-throughs.  However, I'm having a hard time discerning which paladin order(s) would be best for the tank role.  Any thoughts on this?  And on the other side of the coin, are there paladin order(s) that would be especially poor choices for a tank?    

Hello everyone, I have no experience with a paladin as my main tank and thought I'd give it a try as an alternative to the fighter I've used in my other run-throughs.  However, I'm having a hard time discerning which paladin order(s) would be best for the tank role.  Any thoughts on this?  And on the other side of the coin, are there paladin order(s) that would be especially poor choices for a tank?    

Hi there,

I'd say either Darkozzi or Shieldbearer. Darkozzi has a talent for Flames of Devotion to grant yourself a weak form of Flame Shield for 15 sec, but the really popular talent modifies Liberating Exhortation to grant +10 accuracy to an ally for 20 sec, and this can be applied twice to the same ally to stack! It's especially popular to give a cipher super high accuracy to keep things CCd. In patch 2.0 the accuracy of your allies might be high enough vs most enemies, but perhaps for the really tough ones like Adra Dragon it could still make a meaningful difference.

Shieldbearer has a talent for Flames of Devotion to grant nearby allies +10 Deflection for 10 sec. The only caveat is it doesn't apply to yourself, but it can help other tanks/offtanks/melee you have, and even ranged if things get messy. I was questioning my choice to make my paladin a Moon Godlike Shieldbearer, but in 2.0 tanks will be a bit squishier across the board, so I can see both abilities becoming useful in more fights than they currently are, especially on PoTD.

• Like 1