Money: Tracking Kick Starter

I'm new to Kick Starter but am becoming very interested in it as I'm a bit of a gambling man.

Check this out:

http://www.kicktraq.com/projects/obsidian/project-eternity#chart-exp-projection

Does anybody more mathematically / business-minded than me care to comment on the 5.4 - 10.3 MILLION DOLLAR PROJECTION for this project?

sonsofgygax.JPG

This projection looks flat out wrong. What we see in current numbers is a declining rate of increase. What it projects is an accelerating rate of increase. This isn't supported by the current trend at all.

What we will likely see is a trend akin to that of the Double Fine Adventure Kickstarter, in which the rate of increase continues to decline slightly until shortly before the KS funding period completes, at which point a last jump will occur.

It's always possible that publicity will drive a spike in donations at some point. But I'm disinclined to believe such a thing will happen. Most who are interested in donating money to a creative project by the folks involved here have already heard of the project, by now (and likely did in the first day).

Pretty much what Yst said, the projection system is kinda flawed. I'd take the average from the 2 or 3 last days, multiply with the remaining time and then add to what's already been collected. Which would put the project somewhere between 4M-4.8M, even that might be too high.

I wouldn't read too much into these "projections". They might end up being accurate, but they're just guesses - mathematical predictions derived from the rate of donations from the past few days. For example, since sunday, Project eternity has been getting ~$85,000 in donations per day. The graph in your link there is saying that if the trend stays at that rate, then by October 16th, Project eternity should end up with 5-10 million in total funds.