Ladies and gentlemen, a moment of your time!

Kaftan Barlast

Which system seems more logical to you?  

35 members have voted

1. 1. Which system seems more logical to you?

• 1. Success by by rolling below a value (GURPS)
    • 2. Success by reaching target value (d120)

As most of you know, Im studying Game Development at University. Currently Im developing a tabletop roleplaying system called "Operation Angry Badger"*, but this class requires me to come up with some sort of scientific approach and hypothesis about my game. So, I need to conduct a study.

I want you to answer me which approach feels most logical to you, Id also like you to post in the thread and tell me which system the first RPG you played used, although thats strictly optional.

OPTION 1: "Success by by rolling below a value"

This is the system used in SPECIAL, GURPS, Call of Cthulhu and many other games. You have a value that you need to roll under in order to succeed. If you have "pick lock 43%" you need to roll 43 or lower on a d100 to successfully pick a lock.

You modify dificulty by adding or subtracting from the original value as you roll, so the GM might declare you get -10 because the lock is very advanced in which case you need to roll under 33 instead of 43.

OPTION 2: "Success by reaching target value"

This is the system used in Dungeons&Dragons. You take a value and add that value to a die roll in order to reach a target value set by the DM. If you have "pick lock 7" and the DC(target value) for the lock is 25, you need to roll 18 or more on a d20 in order to succeed.

You modify difficulty by simply increasing or decreasing the target number. DC 25 is a pretty tough lock but DC 30 would take some serious skill.

Now remember. Im not asking you which system you prefer to play, Im asking you which system you find the most logical.

Any help is appreciated, I will need a minimum of 10 votes to be able to use this data for my paper.