SInce Im new to the game(& late to playing) as well as overwhelmed by the options I seek advice..

Im playing a ranger, watched several build videos & read alot of forums but still not happy with how quick he can die, slow in combat but hes great against "bosses"

Eder is built like a tank and hardly ever needs healing & can one hit quit most enemys

Aloth WAS doing great but all of a sudden is trying to tank instead of casting & its causing him to die alot more

Basically I feel Ive either "geared" my characters wrong or Im going down the wrong path in the spell/abilities section. Ive tried searching this but nothing was really helpful in understanding how to best build them. What stats to put with each character short of the DUH, intellect should be with wizards & healers. 

What stats should I prioritize for said roles. Example of where I got lost.. after making my ranger, I saw a couple videos where they made might a higher stat than others, I didnt, kept it kind of even..

Anyone able to explain in a World of warcraft type terms? LIke Eder is the tank, xoti healer, aloth, Sev or Tau DPS.. Is there a basics guild thats simple enough to get me started I may have overlooked? 

My goal was to play through once with the basics, learning as I go then once a good understanding is there, start over & do an epic build..I could play this for days but Im a week into it and Im getting more lost the more I research. Again Gear, stat/spell priority is what seems to be killing me the most.

Thanks to any help. I know its an extremely noob post but after 6 hours & TONS of reading Im on the struggle bus

This game, like oldschool CRPGs and certain other games like new XCOM, does not have clearly defined roles for classes. Most classes often have multiple roles, and it's easier to list what a given class CAN'T do than what it can, e.g. Wizards can't buff their teammates in any way with their usual spells. But pretty much everything else they can do.