Jump to content
  • 0
Graill

Ogrekin bug?

Question

I am on an LG V10 running Android 6.0

 

I have encountered this issue twice, both during the Flood mission. I encounter an Ogrekin (Monster version, not Henchmen) and he rolls his d4 causing him to return to the bottom of the deck after I act. I defeat him, he goes back. I run through the rest of the location and encounter him again. He does not roll a d4 for his ability, I defeat him, he returns to the bottom of the deck. This continues repeatedly until he is the last card in the game, and Black Magga eventually eats him, causing me to not advance even though I won the scenario.

 

Both times I was using Kyra, Seoni, and Harsk, I don't remember which locations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I am on an LG V10 running Android 6.0

 

I have encountered this issue twice, both during the Flood mission. I encounter an Ogrekin (Monster version, not Henchmen) and he rolls his d4 causing him to return to the bottom of the deck after I act. I defeat him, he goes back. I run through the rest of the location and encounter him again. He does not roll a d4 for his ability, I defeat him, he returns to the bottom of the deck. This continues repeatedly until he is the last card in the game, and Black Magga eventually eats him, causing me to not advance even though I won the scenario.

 

Both times I was using Kyra, Seoni, and Harsk, I don't remember which locations.

I think this is the "intended" implementation, but the combination of factors (no 'closing' Henchmen in the Flood, and the bug that you need to get the last card) kinda screw the pooch on this one.

 

Even in a normal scenario, you could become somewhat stuck if you roll a 4 for the Ogrekin, then fail to close the location after killing a Henchman: then the Ogreking becomes a permanent and irremovable bottom card of the location, so you only hope is to chase the villain there and close it that way.

 

Contrast this with the card game, where - of course- your encounters with the Ogrekin are separate instances and you roll the d4 each time to see the effect. For this reason, I'm leaning on calling this a "bug", even though the "single d4 roll - permanent card change to a foxed effect" thing is unlikely to have happened by accident and is thus most likely an intended implementation.


You can use the 'Mark Solved' button beneath a post that answers your topic or confirms it's not a bug.

The time that devs don't have to spend on the forum is a time they can spend on fixing the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

This is a bug, because cards don't have memory in the Pathfinder card game. So I should roll separately each time you encounter that card.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q7r0?Some-Thoughts-After-1500-Pathfinder-ACG-Threads

I have encountered this in other scenarios too.

This needs to be fixed. I have failed sections that don't have a villain because of this. It is not an interpretation of the game that adds to the fun of the game. It's just frustrating. Ended up just having to end turn over and over again till I ran out of time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I just lost a heroic 6-3 to this.  That scenario is rage inducing enough as it is, to have this happen and cause a loss has me setting down the game for awhile. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I just encountered this issue. It hasn't been fixed yet. Very aggravating...


Interesting Factoid: My profile picture depicts Belafa cosplaying as Ballos.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think its neat to "give" cards in this version of the game memory, because a videogame can obviously tell which ogrekin shuffled into a deck is the one that rolled that effect, on the other hand, it should be edited so that it can only happen once per turn so that a character can chase the monster down and finish it off, thus allowing them to close locations and such.


Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think its neat to "give" cards in this version of the game memory

 

That's actually what makes the encounter a little bugged.  One of the core rules is that cards don't have a memory.  Unless otherwise directed, each encounter should be brand new and disregard what happened in previous run-ins. If the effects from an Orgekin are allowed to persist, there are handful of other cards that would be a little problematic if they didn't reset post-encounter.

 

The logic behind the Ogrekin bug is that it isn't just a single card, but five.  The first encounter is with a master card.  It rolls the d4 to summon one of the four variants, then promptly banish itself.  You then encounter one of the variants, and if undefeated, that's the card that gets shuffled back into the deck, not the master (because it is already gone).

 

I'm not entirely sure why that's the way things work.  My best guess was that it was an easy way to modify the card text so the player knows which Ogrekin variant they're facing.  But as implemented, the bug is that the variant doesn't "unsummon" itself and drop the master back into the location deck when undefeated.

 

It would probably have been better to handle it as an encounter effect (Orgekin 1, Ogrekin 2, etc..) than with all the card swapping.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...