Brand New to the Game and I Have 3 Questions

I have played BG 1 and 2, NWN 1 and 2, as well as a large number of CRPGs in general.  I have also played P&P rpgs more years than I want to count.  So even though it has been quite a few years since I have done any games such games in the PoE genre' I have a lot of CPRG experience; I am not a novice.

That being said I have done a lot of research on the character builds, etc. before purchasing this game which brings me to the following questions:

1. From what I can gather Patch 2.01 has had a lot of issues.  In your opinion based on experience should I hold off installing until the bugs are corrected?

2. If I only want to do the basic game and not do The White March is the latest patch for the basic game also causing issues?

3. As stated previously, I have done considerable research on character builds but I have read at a number of places that the latest patches have affected such classes as fighter and cipher (the later has been described as "nerfed") and boosting the ranger.  Are these changes significant enough to warrent further research or is older character builds that predate these patches still viable?

Thanks much.

1. It's all up to you. No "gamebreaking" bugs, but there is some UI bugs and some class abilities\spells severaly bugged.

2. 2.01 bugs all the same for base game and expansion. Furthermore, expansion positioned as middle-game area.

3. Better take a look there.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=416939844

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4UqltmSKaEeCbgMY7nx2U0kngJ77wwhX

Edited by lameover
  • Like 1

Sorry for my bad english.

1. If past experiences with Bethesda games are any indication, the game is never going to reach an acceptable level of QA. The game was buggy at launch, and it seems with every bug fixed new bugs arise. So might as well play it now and just hope you don't encounter any game-breaking ones (which contrary to what some say, there are many).