Modding thread: Asset Editor

Bester

I know there's no modding community yet and I don't expect one to appear on this forum, but it's a pretty popular one, so I'm going to create a few threads (mainly reposts from the codex) with the things that I found/made while I've been poking at PoE's assets and code for the last couple of weeks. Maybe it'll help someone to get involved in it as well. I'm not a professional, so any kind of new information would be very appreciated. Anyway, here goes the first thread:

Finished writing a Unity Editor extension which allows Unity to work with .unity3d and .assetbundle files. Can't extract things out yet (but you can do that with Disunity). You can import stuff in though, so you're all set.

I didn't test it thoroughly, but I tested it on 1 item, 1 spell and 1 creature, and it worked every time, so I'm releasing it. (yeah, Obsidian style)
It's supposed to allow you to edit/replace values, meshes, sounds, textures, particles, shaders, animations, and maybe something else, but I only edited values and replaced a texture once. Should work fine, though.

To use it, you need Unity 4.5.1 and it has to be Pro in order to save your changes. You can get a 30 days trial if you like, and you can renew it by simply creating a new account every time (no credit card required I've been told). If you can't get a Pro, you should still be able to view stuff (if the compiler complains about a certain line - comment it out, cause you have no pro).

Here's a fancy screenshot:

AssetEditor.jpg

And here it is in form of Unity project: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/62420848/Test2.zip

Oh, and there is some weird memory leak, so if you load giant files a lot, you're gonna have to restart Unity from time to time. Ah, who am I kidding, you're gonna have to restart it every other 3-4 giant files (the ones that are 50-80 MB).

• Like 19
IE Mod for Pillars of Eternity: link