Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Just began playing the game on PC. Getting bugs.


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Okay so I was super excited that my steam install was finished and ready to go. I started up the game and encountered a number of bugs. I will list them here:

  • The game crashed when toggling the vsync option
  • I got an initial crash during the second Odo monologue. Just froze.
  • Massive memory leaks are making the game unplayable at the moment

The third one is the worst. The game runs totally fine for the most part then suddenly, bam, I get hit by a massive FPS destroying memory leak. There seems to be no reason for the leak, at one point I just left the game running and then it suddenly fixed itself.

I experienced this during the demo, but after updating my ATI drivers, it didn't happen again. Sadly it's happening in the full game as well. Here are my PC specs:

Processor: Core i7 740QM
Graphics: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730
RAM: 8GB

When the game is not memory leaking it runs beautifully on all high settings even with AA on. When it is memory leaking it is unplayable and game breaking. I'm really disappointed by this, I was looking forward to the first weekend of playing through the game but it's not happening right now. Hope there is some sort of reason for these problems and they can be fixed.

#2
Pidesco

Pidesco

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderators
  • 6530 posts
  • Location:Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
I wonder if that's ATI related.

Try reinstalling the drivers.

#3
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Hmm but it did happen before I installed the latest drivers. CCC 11.5 is what I am using now. The game DID run slightly better afterwards. Oh I just saw that 11.6 has just been released...I'll try it out.

#4
C2B

C2B

    Lazy Assistant of the Obsidian Order

  • Members
  • 4139 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Runs smooth on my NVIDIA.

By any chance are you running a dual core?

#5
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Quad core

#6
metamag

metamag

    (4) Theurgist

  • Members
  • 214 posts
I have ATi HD 5670 1GB, Phenom II X2, everything is on high with 4AA and I'm not having any problems.

#7
Flouride

Flouride

    Chew Toy of the Obsidian Order

  • Members
  • 2022 posts
  • Location:Hellsinki, Finland
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
No problems so far on my ATi 6900 series card and with dual core.

#8
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts
im getting a sense of deja vu here.
didnt you post about this the other day and then said you solved it by upgrading your drivers to 11.5?

well, 11.6 is out now. possibly try them?

#9
Mem

Mem

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 11 posts

im getting a sense of deja vu here.
didnt you post about this the other day and then said you solved it by upgrading your drivers to 11.5?

well, 11.6 is out now. possibly try them?



Running fine with my 11.6s drivers, I have yet to have my first crash and I have been playing since yesterday,the next person that says could be ATI related I'll shoot them ; ),its not like DS3 cannot have bugs or is the perfect game.

Anything overclocked or running in the background that could interfere with game?...Laptops need good cooling so make sure its not overheating.

Edited by Mem, 17 June 2011 - 07:07 AM.


#10
seville57

seville57

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Höganäs, Sweden
Got the game(DSIII nordic edition) and installed it today, could play for 3 to 5 min then the game crashed(the game has stopped workin). My setup is: Intel i7 980X, Asus GTX 580, Patriot PVT36G1600LLK(6 gb), 1 Intel 320 160 gb ssd, 1 WD VelociRaptor(2,5) 600 gb, 1 Aopen blu-ray player, Asus Rampage III Formula, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champ1on PCIe, Windows 7 64 bit Home Prem sp1 with latest drivers installed.

Edited by seville57, 17 June 2011 - 08:20 AM.


#11
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts
275.33 are the latest nvidia drivers, are those the ones youve got installed?

#12
seville57

seville57

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Höganäs, Sweden

275.33 are the latest nvidia drivers, are those the ones youve got installed?

Yes I have the Nvidia drivers 275.33 installed.

#13
C2B

C2B

    Lazy Assistant of the Obsidian Order

  • Members
  • 4139 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

275.33 are the latest nvidia drivers, are those the ones youve got installed?

Yes I have the Nvidia drivers 275.33 installed.


Could it be that it is your sound card?

#14
seville57

seville57

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Höganäs, Sweden

275.33 are the latest nvidia drivers, are those the ones youve got installed?

Yes I have the Nvidia drivers 275.33 installed.


Could it be that it is your sound card?

Have the latest drivers from Creative. Update: I have just start the the game again and it crashed on the same place as it did before I has playin the game. Right on the same place.

Edited by seville57, 17 June 2011 - 09:10 AM.


#15
brandysnap

brandysnap

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 159 posts
have you tried lowering all the graphics options down to the lowest settings?

also what is a asus rampage III formula?

failing that youll have to post a dxdiag for the devs to look at. a list of running programs might help aswell. things like kaspersky internet security can cause problems sometimes.

#16
seville57

seville57

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Höganäs, Sweden

have you tried lowering all the graphics options down to the lowest settings?

also what is a asus rampage III formula?

failing that youll have to post a dxdiag for the devs to look at. a list of running programs might help aswell. things like kaspersky internet security can cause problems sometimes.

No I have not tried lowering all the graphics options down to the lowest settings yet, I gonna try tomorrow. Asus Rampage III Formula(Republic Of Gamers = ROG) is a motherboard for the Intel 1366 CPU socket. I usin Eset nod 32 antivirus and the most games I had installed had never a problem with nod 32 but you never should say never.

Edited by seville57, 17 June 2011 - 10:11 AM.


#17
LadyCrimson

LadyCrimson

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 9061 posts
  • Location:Candyland
  • Pillars of Eternity Gold Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

[*]The game crashed when toggling the vsync option

That happened to me once in the demo. Only once tho...I went back in tested it, turning it on and off again, and no crash. Weird.

Darnit, I want the game. I can't test/participate in anything until I can play. *cries about different release dates some more* :sorcerer:

#18
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

im getting a sense of deja vu here.
didnt you post about this the other day and then said you solved it by upgrading your drivers to 11.5?

well, 11.6 is out now. possibly try them?


I've just updated to 11.6 however, I am noticing something strange. When I installed CCC 11.6 everything went ahead fine, but if I look up the display adapter in Windows, it says the driver version is 8.831.2.0 and the driver date is 08/03/2011. When I read the release notes though it says the driver version should be AMD display driver version 8.861.

The file which I've downloaded and installed is 11-6_mobility_vista_win7_32-64_ccc.exe

Is there something I've done wrong?

#19
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Alright, I've managed to update the driver it seems. Now, I don't know why, I always thought the CCC would come packaged with the latest driver and would install it when it gets updated. Apparently not so. So I went to the device manager and updated the driver there through Windows. I now have v 8.6 so I will try the game again now.

I don't know why, but my Catalyst Control Center will not boot either. I've read that this is a common problem on Windows 7. The fixes I read online seemed too long for me to bother with now so I'm just going to see how the game runs with this new driver. Will report back.

#20
Cyn!c

Cyn!c

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
Okay, haven't experienced the bug so extremely since installing the new driver, however...there still does seem to be memory leaks happening. If things get bad, I reboot the game and everything is fine for 30 mins or so, then frame rates dip again.

I've also noticed a stuttering sound bug in Ravens Rill. I think some others pointed this out.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users