Help rpg newbie

I'm new to rpg games and I have a bit of a problem with character development. I finished the game first time using auto level up. But playing that way doesn't give the fullest experience because I think using auto level makes exile just an average dude. Well I did okay but I got an impression that there could be more.

I've read a few character development guides but they all focus on creating a character. But what do I do after that? If I develop for example a strength based ls jedi sentinel how do I continue sharing those attribute points? And what about the skills? Do I concentrate on couple of skills? Which are best skills for pc to have? Do I have to change development a lot if I play ds?

Lot of questions but I really appreciate if you can help me. Thanks already.

The best skills are depending on the way you want to play the game.

K2 isn't a very difficult so you should experiment with different skills.

Attribute points should fit to the class you play. If you fight a lot with your saber you should have enough strength and constitution. You have to focus on the attributes that are important to you.

If your char has low computer skills take a partymember with high comp skills with you ...

I'd add one qualifier to the above: apparently, when using a workbench to breakdown items, the Repair skill of the primary character (the "Exile") is used to calculate how many components you receive from the breakdown. So it might be wise to invest skill points in repair, and wear + repair items on the exile when using the workbench to break down items. Also, you can upgrade T3-M4's stats if you have good computer and repair skills, so that might be a good investment if you use T3 and have good influence with the droid.

I'm only on the second planet, so clearly demarcated spoilers please in replies. Thanks.