Preface: I'm still pretty new to this game. As a huge fan of support characters in general and bards in particular, I figured playing a chanter would fit that bill for me closely enough that I wouldn't notice a difference. I was wrong, and the longer I play, the more apparent that is becoming. At this point I realize I'm probably doing something wrong.

I had read around the forums for a bit and saw chanters could dump Dex for practically no penalty. So going with what the game was suggesting, I made this:

Z22hGFSh.jpg

I feel like after 4 levels I should have seen some sort of improvement in my output but it just doesn't seem to be what I was expecting. I figure I must have built the character incorrectly. As a tank, she seems to be sticky (frequently seems to steal aggro off of Eder, even though I let him engage first) - but with that health and endurance doesn't seem to be able to stay alive long.

As an aoe, "Come, Come Soft Winds of Death" only seems to be doing about 2 damage if I read the combat log correctly - which at level 4 just seems absolutely paltry; and as a damage dealer, her attacks are soooo sloooow - even when equipped with a "fast" hatchet - that damage output is pathetic. Her only real source of damage seems to be the phantom summon.

And if I switch to The Disappointer (enchanted with Accurate 1), damage becomes notably better but I can't do anything aside from get one shot off and then wait an eon for the next shot. Meanwhile, the enemies have closed the distance and she's getting hit and hurt and the reloading animation isn't ending fast enough to get a heal/potion/Gaun's Pledge/etc. off in time. 

How do I fix this (or, what am I doing wrong)? Am I simply expecting too much from the class, trying to be good at too many things at once? I feel like I should be a more productive party member by level 4, y'know?