Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
ferrisvalyn

Bracers of Improved protection not working

Question

Was playing a round of rise of the goblins, and Goblin Sajan tried to punch a plague zombie and rolled like ***** (Sajan, getting really annoyed at you), and I had the Bracers of Improved Protection in hand, and yet there is a lock on it.  

 

Further details

1)  Game was Bard in the Bag, at Legendary Level

2)  Extra challenges were Blood in the Sand and Painful Memories

3)  Team (in this order) - Sajan @ Deeper Dungeons, Raznak @ Deeper Dungeons, Seoni @ Prison, Poog @ Glassworks

4)  Using a G4, Android V6

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Did you use another item in the combat? Like amulet of xxx fist? It preventing using another item later in the same check.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I understand what you are saying, but that doesn't make sense - the bracers aren't being used on the check, they are being used on damage.  It's 2 items on the dice roll itself (at least, that is how I've always understood the rules) rather than on both the roll and the after effects of a roll

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I understand what you are saying, but that doesn't make sense - the bracers aren't being used on the check, they are being used on damage.  It's 2 items on the dice roll itself (at least, that is how I've always understood the rules) rather than on both the roll and the after effects of a roll

 

Technically, resolving damage is still the same step as the combat roll.

 

Per the rules:

While encountering a card, each player may play no more than 1 card of each type during each step.

 

Encountering a card has the following steps:

  • Evade the card (optional).
  • Apply any effects that happen before the encounter, if needed.
  • Attempt the check.
  • Attempt the next check, if needed.
  • Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed.
  • Resolve the encounter.

"Attempt the check" includes all of the following:

  • Determine which die you’re using.
  • Determine the difficulty.
  • Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional).
  • Assemble your dice.
  • Attempt the roll.
  • Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster.

The "no more than 1 card of each type" rule resets in each of the numbered steps above.  But the lettered items are all part of the same step 3 or 4.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...