Total newbie here: tips for quest mode?

So I got this game and I really like it, but I'm trying to figure out strategies to be successful in quest mode. I have the characters Kyra, Merisiel and Ezren and I can't for the life of me finish even a single quest... what the strategy I should be using? Usually I run out of time trying to corner the boss and it's not even close! Then my characters get to level 3 and get no rewards, maxing that even if I go back and try again, it's the same crap because there's no progression... apparently, to progress, I need to beat the quest on the first playthrough, or I won't get the skill advancement ever. But how do it? What am I missing here?

for missing rewards...there's a bug :) if you understand to lose the scenario,forfeit the game so xp aren't charged :) 3/4 party group should be work;if u can't close the locations in time,try to use Seelah(with her crusade power she's one of the best location closers;I usually go with 4 people party,assign each char to a location(each to best fit closing check:ezren to academy,meri to wooden bridge etc); then on 4 locations, both u catch the villain or not,u try to close them;when the char close a location,then move to an open location;usually in 10/15 turns u will have 2 closed locations,and 4 char at the remaining...so it's time to catch the villain!use blessings or allies to maximize your exploration,u surely find him :) anyway,it's a game based on luck(not entirely,but enough),so not always u'll win the scenario(bad draws,henchmen at last loc deck etc); my party usually is Valeros(monster/villain killer,good for locations full of monsters,good with his charisma check), Merisiel(alone,she's devasting,good on dex closing checks,best on barriers), Ezren(spells and arcane checks) and Seelah(Good fighter,good healer,good powers)

Ehi mate! :)