I just started playing PoE. I played BG2 for many years, so I am not entirely new to rpgs. However, my wizard is constantly dying, in every single fight. Even against a lonely wolf. I am playing on normal/easy. So I wonder whether there is something I completely miss or do not understand in this gameplay or whether a wizard is just a pretty crappy choice to begin with.

Wizard is pretty powerful. You need to tell us more about what you're doing. (After all, if you whacked wolves with a staff at the start of BG1 your wizard would die, every time.) Talents? Attribs? Strategies? Rest of party?

• Like 2

Sounds like you're solo. Best thing to do is get to town and grab some companions. Get a tank to engage your enemies, then start raining ranged death with your wizard.

^This.

At the start, many characters are not particularly well suited to going it solo (unless you're particularly skilled as a player, I suppose).  So often the best thing to do is to try to sneak past any possible encounters and get into town to gather up some companions before going back to clear the area.

my guess u are in that area before the first town. After entering you are fatigued so you stats are lower then usual so make sure u rest.

Also unless u going for a solo run dont stay and fight all the encounters there. Go to the next area(town) and pick up a companion or 2 (also will most likely take you to level 3) before coming back and clearing the place.

I think the problem is solved, I did find a fighter companion.

However, I just started a Cipher. Since I really hate it if I, after having played some time, find out that I chose a wrong ability (as with my Wizard), I would like to ask whether what I have done so far is fine:

Human Death Godlike

Old Vailia - Aristocrat

Mig 18

Con 5

Dex 19

Per 7

Int 20

Res 9

I was mot sure whether it would be better to have Con and Per on the minimum, on the other hand, this does not feel good.

Mind Wave and Soul Shock are my first two skills.