Microsoft looks to acquire Dell

BruceVC

http://www.onenewspage.com/n/Technology/74vnphvlq/Microsoft-might-invest-up-to-billion-in.htm

http://news.yahoo.com/reports-microsoft-may-invest-dell-180008586.html

Hi All

I find this development absolutely fascinating, its a potential game changer going forward for the PC hardware industry

I am a software consultant so I can see the ramifications for this. Please note that nothing is confirmed but this is the speculation.

Michael Dell, founder of Dell, plans to buy back all public shares of Dell. He will then get private investment to invest in Dell. Microsoft being one of the interested parties. By doing this he is no longer beholden to the direction that shareholders feel he needs to take the company

So if this happens what we will get is an integrated PC desktop, laptop and Server running Microsoft. Many of you are probably saying "but this is common now. We get IBM, HP and other hardware vendors that come pre-installed with Microsoft software? "

The difference now is the price that this Dell\Microsoft venture can sell the hardware at. No one will be able to compete with it. At the moment hardware vendors have to pay for the hardware production cost and then the software cost to Microsoft. Imagine how competitive a company could be that owned the hardware and software? This may even raise some anti-competitive legal issues?

I am a big supporter of Microsoft so I'll be watching this space closely.

:)

• Like 1

"Abashed the devil stood and felt how awful goodness is and saw Virtue in her shape how lovely: and pined his loss”

John Milton 

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” -  George Bernard Shaw

"What counts in life is not the mere fact that we have lived. It is what difference we have made to the lives of others that will determine the significance of the life we lead" - Nelson Mandela