Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

how can a character gain new traits?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
totalitärling

totalitärling

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 6 posts
So i assigned a spell card slot to my rogue, but she doesn't have arcane or divine traits still, and just wastes her spells. How can she gain either arcane or divine trait? If not, why can she pick spell slots?

#2
MrScott

MrScott

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 20 posts

I think Merisel has a spell slot because of the rogue's ability of "Use Magic Device" in D&D. As far as I know, there is currently no way to get an arcane or divine skill for her. That spell slot seems to me to be most useful for a cure spell. You can put a cure spell in that slot which will be banished as soon as you use it. After the scenario, you can replace it with another cure spell as long as you haven't acquired any spells during the adventure. It is almost like having a healing potion that refreshes at the end of each scenario.



#3
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1689 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

I think Merisel has a spell slot because of the rogue's ability of "Use Magic Device" in D&D. As far as I know, there is currently no way to get an arcane or divine skill for her. That spell slot seems to me to be most useful for a cure spell. You can put a cure spell in that slot which will be banished as soon as you use it. After the scenario, you can replace it with another cure spell as long as you haven't acquired any spells during the adventure. It is almost like having a healing potion that refreshes at the end of each scenario.

I’m confused by this. Banished cards are banished; you don’t get them back.

What am I missing here?

#4
Jenceslav

Jenceslav

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

I’m confused by this. Banished cards are banished; you don’t get them back.

What am I missing here?

 

It's rather simple (and can be viewed as gaming the system). If you do not have proper amount of cards after a scenario (say, a spell was banished) and have no spare spell obtained in the scenario itself, you would have non-valid deck (1 card missing). So, you are entitled to draw a new spell with the Basic trait from the box (i.e. Collection). Starting with AD2, you may add non-Basic cards that have adventure deck number two less than the current AD. That is, in AD2 - cards from B,C; in AD3 - cards from B,C,AD1...

Merisiel uses a Cure (with Basic trait), which is banished. If you did not obtain another spell in the scenario, she can draw a new spell, which can be another Cure.

A spell card slot for Meri is not wasted - you may not care about repeatibility for a non-caster and put there any spell you would otherwise throw away. Yes, it is one-time and yes, my Meri does not have this slot :), but the possibilities are interesting.


  • Achilles, Ethics Gradient and MrScott like this

#5
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1689 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

I have never seen that option available. There have been occasions where I've had to pull a card from my Unclaimed tab, but I've never seen the Collection tab available after the first scenario.

 

Is it possible that the game only gives you this option if you have no Unclaimed cards?



#6
MrScott

MrScott

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 20 posts

The digital game forces you to pull from your Unclaimed tab first if there are any cards present. I personally don't like that. Call me old fashioned, but I would rather earn the cards I get through adventuring. The first thing I do when I buy treasure chests is go to my unclaimed tab and cash out all the cards there. I understand some people want to play with the new cards you've just bought, but that isn't for me.



#7
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1689 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
Ok that explains it. So it only works as Jenceslav describes if you have no Unclaimed cards.

#8
Hannibal_PJV

Hannibal_PJV

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 2190 posts
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer
Yep... that is one reason I keep my unclaimed free. I would almost hope that it could be turn on/turn off option like perma dead is. Then I would newer be forsed to deal it manually.
And, Yep.... cure is best onetime use spell to merciel. Very usefull for that.
  • Achilles likes this

#9
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1689 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

With much trepidation, I cleaned out my Unclaimed spells and put this to the test with Sajan. Sure enough, after clicking through the "store", I was taken to a similar screen with the Collections tab, full of Repair cards. It appears to be capped at AD4 cards and I can't tell if all of *those* are there, but still, pretty cool!

 

Attached File  20180103010041_1.jpg   120.85KB   0 downloads

 

 


Edited by Achilles, 03 January 2018 - 12:01 AM.


#10
Ethics Gradient

Ethics Gradient

    (8) Warlock

  • Members
  • 1163 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

It appears to be capped at AD4 cards ...

Per the rules, if you are unable to construct a valid deck out of remaining cards, you are allowed to pick any card out of the box with the Basic trait.

 

However, after you start AD3, you are then allowed to pick any card two ADs lower than the scenario you just played.

 

Even at end-game, there are still a bunch of decent cards in the AD4 deck.  It's pretty easy to mildly exploit the rules by finding a way to banish cards in AD6 then forfeiting the scenario.



#11
269Hawkmoon

269Hawkmoon

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 137 posts

I believe the loot spell Summon Monster doesn't get banished if you lack Arcane or Divine. So, you can always keep that one.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users