Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

What's this I hear about the stuttering being a DRM issue?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
AKofC

AKofC

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 14 posts
People over on GameFAQs pointed out stutters being addressed via a crack. Dropping it at that, but my question is the stuttering going to be addressed in a patch? Because it's really annoying when I end up running into a camera's FOV because of it. :/

#2
Tigranes

Tigranes

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 10491 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer
What kind of stuttering are you referring to, exactly? Not everyone has the game yet and 'known issues' are still not that 'known' to everyone.

If it's regarding mouse accleration / mouselook, also check out:

For the mouse acceleration, currently a known fix for some people was:

go into APEngine.ini in My Documents,

Set:

MinSmoothedFrameRate=20
MaxSmoothedFrameRate=30



#3
AKofC

AKofC

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 14 posts
Unsure what to call it really, but I'll give that a try and let you know how it works. Thanks. :)

#4
AKofC

AKofC

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 14 posts
No luck. Same deal with the game stopping for a bit before continuing on. :/

#5
Tokie

Tokie

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

For the mouse acceleration, currently a known fix for some people was:

go into APEngine.ini in My Documents,

Set:

MinSmoothedFrameRate=20
MaxSmoothedFrameRate=30



I am having the same stutter problem too. This does nothing but lowering my fps down.

The problem I am having is when I make a camera turn with the mouse, the game sometimes 'stutters' for 1/2 a second....then the camera turns more than I desire. This makes gameplay extremely frustrating because I can't seem to make a slight turn without having the camera going nuts on me.

This issue is more apparent when moving into new areas.

Edited by Tokie, 29 May 2010 - 01:48 AM.


#6
Tigranes

Tigranes

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 10491 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer
The mouse issue seems fairly widespread at the moment, but yeah, as you might imagine there aren't a lot of fixes out there at the moment.

It's happened to me in lesser degrees in some areas, when there were a lot of enemies (making me spin round and round on the spot as I tried to get my bearings), but never constantly, esp. after the ini edit.

Akofc, so some people report cracks are 'fixing' the issue? That it is DRM related?

#7
Lestrade

Lestrade

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Akofc, so some people report cracks are 'fixing' the issue? That it is DRM related?


No, it's not. The problem with the mouse isn't magically eleminated with a not so original .exe.
I tried because I would like to play without this problem, the mouse movement gets me killed the most while playing, but reverted back to the original since it doesn't help.

Edited by Lestrade, 29 May 2010 - 03:06 AM.


#8
Tin

Tin

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 11 posts
i Have a same problem.
But i dont think its a mouse issue
I think that mouse glitch is only the result of it.
It happends when new enemies are being loaded.
At that second(or half a second.... ) game freezes and if you were moving with the mouse in any direction with a mouse in that time (yes that 1/2 of a second) as soon as game starts running again it will perform that mouse movement only like if you were turning lets say 5 seconds
Try it, go somewhere where you know it happends and dont touch the mouse just walk and it wont affect the mouse, however that freeze effect will still be there.

So the issue is more Enemy loading related, not mouse related.
Loading is cause, mouse lag is result.

Edited by Tin, 29 May 2010 - 04:02 AM.


#9
Lestrade

Lestrade

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 11 posts

i Have a same problem.
But i dont think its a mouse issue
I think that mouse glitch is only the result of it.
It happends when new enemies are being loaded.
At that second(or half a second.... ) game freezes and if you were moving with the mouse in any direction with a mouse in that time (yes that 1/2 of a second) as soon as game starts running again it will perform that mouse movement only like if you were turning lets say 5 seconds
Try it, go somewhere where you know it happends and dont touch the mouse just walk and it wont affect the mouse, however that freeze effect will still be there.

So the issue is more Enemy loading related, not mouse related.
Loading is cause, mouse lag is result.


Since you get it sometimes in safehouses too I doubt it has anything to do with enemies loading in.

#10
Tin

Tin

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Since you get it sometimes in safehouses too I doubt it has anything to do with enemies loading in.

interesting.
It never happend to me in areas without people. (safehouse included)
However i barely started playing (second mission)
Whatever it is i still believe its loading issue.

#11
Mithaldu

Mithaldu

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

What kind of stuttering are you referring to, exactly? Not everyone has the game yet and 'known issues' are still not that 'known' to everyone.

If it's regarding mouse accleration / mouselook, also check out:

This does not help. As an employee of Obsidian, can't you at least ask higher up to see if a patch is planned?

#12
Gel214th

Gel214th

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Since you get it sometimes in safehouses too I doubt it has anything to do with enemies loading in.

interesting.
It never happend to me in areas without people. (safehouse included)
However i barely started playing (second mission)
Whatever it is i still believe its loading issue.


What you and Obsidian need to take into account is that there was a Cracked version of this game released. the CRACKED version has stuttering that was due to the attempt to remove the DRM.Then there was a fixed cracked version released, which supposedly doesn't have the problem.

If you do not have a store bought/valid digital download version of the game, please don't post to the Technical Forums complaining about technical issues.

It's surprising that people seem to have the know how to download and install cracked games, but don't have the intelligence to know that the problems with performance that they experience could very well be because of these cracks.

This is why troubleshooting player complaints becomes so difficult sometimes for companies. You don't know if you are dealing with someone who has a proper Retail version, A proper Retail Version with a NoDVD/NoDRM Crack...or just a plain old cracked copy.

I'm not saying that everyone experiencing this has a cracked copy, or that it is not a genuine problem btw.

#13
AKofC

AKofC

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 14 posts
It being a DRM thing is what they're saying but I'm not going to risk getting my Steam account banned experimenting. Still the game is playable enough even with stutters, just gets somewhat annoying near cameras or when sneaking since it's like the video is the only thing that freezes but any input you make still registers.

Anyway hope a patch comes out for the stuff eventually, maybe in time for my next playthrough. Game's a blast.

#14
Tigranes

Tigranes

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 10491 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

This does not help. As an employee of Obsidian, can't you at least ask higher up to see if a patch is planned?


Unfortunately, I'm just a moderator, not an employee. However, I can't imagine them not putting out any PC patches, at the very least.

It looks like we still need to keep getting more info about who's having the problem and where, and how many variations of it exist.

#15
Mithaldu

Mithaldu

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

Unfortunately, I'm just a moderator, not an employee. However, I can't imagine them not putting out any PC patches, at the very least.

It looks like we still need to keep getting more info about who's having the problem and where, and how many variations of it exist.

Ugh. I should've expected this from a company with no actual support venue. Thanks for the answer, dude.

Also, my reason for not expecting them to patch is simple. This kind of issue should've been caught in playtesting. It is hilarious to imagine they only tried to play it with xbox controllers on pcs and never actually used a mouse, but i sort of think they're not that dumb. So the only option left is that they knew about it and just plain didn't know how to fix it. (UE is not exactly easy to code for.)



Also, to those people talking about DRM: I would be happy if this was a DRM issue and i could just apply a crack and play. However it is not. Even with the crackfix it's still broken.

#16
Tokie

Tokie

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

It's happened to me in lesser degrees in some areas, when there were a lot of enemies (making me spin round and round on the spot as I tried to get my bearings), but never constantly, esp. after the ini edit.

Akofc, so some people report cracks are 'fixing' the issue? That it is DRM related?


It's not constantly spinning, but enough to make me want to quit playing. Playing a stealth shooter without precision and control over your own character really drives me away from this game.

Also this is not a DRM issue, I installed this game fresh from the box and it stutters. Then I went online and saw 'stutter fix' posted by some people, then I reinstalled the game and applied the 'crack fix' but it made no difference. It is definately a loading problem, and 'crazy mouse turning' is the most visible result.

Edited by Tokie, 29 May 2010 - 05:13 AM.


#17
blackwolfe

blackwolfe

    (2) Evoker

  • Members
  • 78 posts
I hope they fix this soon with a patch. Its getting on my nerves...

*sneaksneaksneaksneak* *crazymousespin* *dies*

#18
Iceman346

Iceman346

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer

I'm not saying that everyone experiencing this has a cracked copy, or that it is not a genuine problem btw.


It is a genuine problem. I bought a digital download from direct2drive.co.uk and I have the mouse problem.

#19
Gel214th

Gel214th

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 28 posts

I'm not saying that everyone experiencing this has a cracked copy, or that it is not a genuine problem btw.


It is a genuine problem. I bought a digital download from direct2drive.co.uk and I have the mouse problem.


It seems to happen when the game is loading new graphics, textures etc.

#20
Iceman346

Iceman346

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
Just as an addendum: I tried the "fix" (modifying the Min/MaxSmoothedFramerate) and it certainly improved things. The game is still stuttering sometimes but not nearly as bad as before. On the downside the 30fps limiter when using 20/30 as values is not very eye-friendly.

I'm now using
MinSmoothedFrameRate=10
MaxSmoothedFrameRate=45

this still reduces the stuttering greatly but a 45 fps limit is more reasonable than using 30 fps.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users