Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Chain Mail bug?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw
The text on the card says you can recharge it to reduce combat damage by 2 or banish (bury if character has heavy armor proficiency) to reduce combat damage to 0.
When I play the chain mail, the options I have are Bury (using Kyra, who is proficient) and discard instead of recharge.
I'm not aware of an errata for the card and khans the physical game in Italian language, which has been translated after all the errata on English cards were out, and the card still says "recharge", not "discard", so I think it's not a typo on the card but an error in implementing its behavior.

#2
Longshot11

Longshot11

    (7) Enchanter

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

The text on the card says you can recharge it to reduce combat damage by 2 or banish (bury if character has heavy armor proficiency) to reduce combat damage to 0.
When I play the chain mail, the options I have are Bury (using Kyra, who is proficient) and discard instead of recharge.
I'm not aware of an errata for the card and khans the physical game in Italian language, which has been translated after all the errata on English cards were out, and the card still says "recharge", not "discard", so I think it's not a typo on the card but an error in implementing its behavior.

Are you sure you didn't receive damage from a source other than Combat? (Fire from Black Fang, Poison from Pulbug Podiker...). In that case you got the right options as you can only bury the armor for the second power (which act vs. ALL types of damage, not only Combat) , while the discard option was the option where you select the armor to be one of the cards you throw for the received damage.



#3
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw
I lost to an enchanter by 2. I should suffer 2 combat damage that I should be able to prevent by recharging the armo and THEN the enchanter would deal me 1 fire damage that the armor can't prevent.
Since I was able to recharge the armor in a later game, I think the bug is in the enchanter card: somehow the combat damage and fire damage got mixed up and combat damage couldn't be prevented by the armor.

#4
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw
Oh no, wait! It's not a bug. It's me being an idiot. The fire damage comes BEFORE the combat damage. I couldn't recharge the armor because at that point the game was dealing my character the fire damage, not the combat damage.
Thank you for letting me look more closely in what was actually going on
  • StormbringerGT likes this

#5
StormbringerGT

StormbringerGT

    Member

  • Members
  • 774 posts
  • Location:Irvine, CA
  • Steam:StormbringerGT
  • Xbox Gamertag:StormbringerGT
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

:)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users