Jump to content
metadigital

Obsidian Forum Diplomacy Game 2 (OBS-2)

Recommended Posts

If Swe were giving support into GOB, Russia moving into Swe would cut that support.  However, Germany can freely abandon Swe and allow someone else to move into it in a given turn.

 

Sweden was moving into GoB while Denmark was mocing to sweden as a block against Russia.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I know it doesn't make any difference to the actual results, but my order A Ser S A Tri actually falls under rule 8, and is legal, rather than being illegal under rule 9.  A Tri was ordered to support, not ordered to move, so it can be supported by a unit that only mentions its province.  This is stated more explicitly on page 7, under the first bulletpoint of "Supporting a Unit": "A unit that is ordered to hold, convoy, support, or not ordered at all can recieve support in holding its position".

Aaarrggh! :(

 

I actually initially thought that was true, and I had that in the first version! :)

 

It does make a difference. I have re-calculated and updated the map and order status for 1903 Spring. I have also included the rules for easy checking, so that we all know why the results are so (and if I have made any other mistakes, please let me know asap).

 

Apologies once again for the inconvenience, team. :">


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question for those more knowledgeable. If a unit attacks another unit without support it cuts support given by the unit that was attacked. What happens then if the attacking unit is attacked by a third party? Obviously if the unit is attacked by multiple units, it is dislodged, but in the case of only a single unit attacking what happens then?

 

In summary:

Unit A supports Unit B.

Unit C attacks Unit A intending to cut support.

Unit D attacks Unit C.

 

I couldn't find anything in the rules that covered this specific example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Question for those more knowledgeable. If a unit attacks another unit without support it cuts support given by the unit that was attacked. What happens then if the attacking unit is attacked by a third party? Obviously if the unit is attacked by multiple units, it is dislodged, but in the case of only a single unit attacking what happens then?

 

In summary:

Unit A supports Unit B.

Unit C attacks Unit A intending to cut support.

Unit D attacks Unit C.

 

I couldn't find anything in the rules that covered this specific example.

 

Then Unit A's support is cut, and units A, C, and D hold in their positions.


Hawk! Eggplant! AWAKEN!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Question for those more knowledgeable. If a unit attacks another unit without support it cuts support given by the unit that was attacked. What happens then if the attacking unit is attacked by a third party? Obviously if the unit is attacked by multiple units, it is dislodged, but in the case of only a single unit attacking what happens then?

 

In summary:

Unit A supports Unit B.

Unit C attacks Unit A intending to cut support.

Unit D attacks Unit C.

 

I couldn't find anything in the rules that covered this specific example.

Then Unit A's support is cut, and units A, C, and D hold in their positions.

True (AFAIK :luck:"). And if there was:

Unit E supporting Unit D attack on Unit C,

then Unit C would be defeated (retreat if available), but its attack on A still stands, even though it is dislodged / disbanded (Rule 15).


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Um..Mets? My "former" unit in Venice should still be in Venice. :D

 

 

If a nation A's unit fails to move into and adjacent province due to the fact another nation B moved into said province do to his superior support, nation A's unit is NOT destroyed, correct? I'm under the impression that it merely stays put in it's original province.

 

Am I right to believe that the only way a nation's unit can be destroyed is if the province it's CURRENTLY occupying is taken by an opponent and it has no possible/listed escape routes?

 

Perhaps you can clarify the the supposition using real examples like you always do. :()

 

-Jag.

 

--

 

No, that's okay, you're absolutely correct. Units are only destroyed if they don't retreat from a province (either because no retreats are listed or none are possible) they were dislodged from, and they can only be dislodged if the province they begin the turn in is occupied, and they have not moved out of said province (either because a move order failed or another kind of order was given).

 

-Reveilled.


manthing2.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I swear that army was there earlier Jags. Wonder why it was removed. :(

 

German Emperor Outraged Over Recent Russian Occupation of Austria Territory.

 

People gathered in the streets today to protest the occupation of allied Austrian territories by the brutish Russian invaders who earlier this week managed to overcome the fiercesome Austrian defenders when the Italians delayed support from Vienna and the Turkish joined the Russians in thier push south. The Austrian defences were overwelmed by the sheer number of enemy troops that were sent against them and in the end the entire division was brutally slaughtered in defense of their homeland.

 

The German people urged their leader to take action against this atrocity and come to the aid of their allies. In a statement made earlier today the Emperor had this to say about the current situation.

 

"It is clear to me that the eastern nations are bent on the complete destruction of the Austrian peoples and their way of life. We have already taken steps to help combat our allies, but alas our troops were to late coming to the aid of the Austrians in the south. In the north we have our fleets moving towards the Russian homeland as we speek in a desparate counterattack in order to relieve some of the pressure that our allies face in the south. We will not let the grave insult go unpunished by the cowardly Russians.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have just had word from Aishur, he has been in isolation with a nasty virus (and a bad reaction to his medication as well), so he has obviously not been able to get to a computer.

 

I will immediately take him out of Civil Disorder.

 

I don't think it is fair to do more than that (unless you guys want to roll back a turn ...).

 

I may push the deadline for this turn back, as well, to give him time to get back on his feet, pending consultation.

 

PS I have corrected the Venice Armies mysterious disapearance ... looks like they went for a quick drink and now they're back ...! :ermm:


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
... looks like they went for a quick drink and now they're back ...! :lol:

Looks like they couldn't resist the temptation of Russia's infamous vodka. :D

 

The Italians are always welcome to Russia's vodka. Just not Russia's land. They wouldn't like the snow anyway. :-


sig2.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I know Italians they would be busy fraternising with the Russian girls, not drinking the vodka with the Russian boys. :thumbsup:


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right. Problems:

 

1. Only three people have submitted moves this turn (1903 Autumn).

2. Aishur is either too unwell or too obstreperous to play, so England is either out of the game or needs a replacement.

 

Suggestions? Keep playing?

 

Also, I will extend the deadline for 24hrs, initially, so please get any outstanding orders in.


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Right. Problems:

 

1. Only three people have submitted moves this turn (1903 Autumn).

2. Aishur is either too unwell or too obstreperous to play, so England is either out of the game or needs a replacement.

 

Suggestions? Keep playing?

 

Also, I will extend the deadline for 24hrs, initially, so please get any outstanding orders in.

 

End it now while I'm in the lead! :thumbsup:"

 

I'd love to keep playing if we can get people to start participating a little more. A replacement for Aishur would help this a little.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is quite a pickle.

 

I would suggest that the turn be adjudicated in 24 hours regardless of how many sets of orders there are, and that if the other players do not submit on a second subsequent turn, that we find replacements for those players, or take a vote on declaring the game abandoned if we are short of four or more players.


Hawk! Eggplant! AWAKEN!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, there is not much point in playing if no-one is playing. I've got better things to do than sail the Marie Celeste ...


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check your post, people: moves are out and time for a reckoning.

 

1903 Winter adjustments are due 12:00UTC tomorrow, Wednesday [7th September]


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can still make it? Hooray! Sorry, I had karate and then I had school and then I did my homework and then I ate and then...

 

You get the point.

 

Anyway... *runs off to send in orders*


sig2.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I can still make it?  Hooray!  Sorry, I had karate and then I had school and then I did my homework and then I ate and then...

 

You get the point.

 

Anyway... *runs off to send in orders*

Um, for 1904 Spring, yes. :)


OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I can still make it?  Hooray!  Sorry, I had karate and then I had school and then I did my homework and then I ate and then...

 

You get the point.

 

Anyway... *runs off to send in orders*

 

Pfft. School is no excuse for missing Diplomacy. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...