Wanting to play this before the sequel... But I am not good at these games...

I always wanted to play a game like this, so I bought it on my Xbox One X while it was on sale.

I've had it on PC before, but I was SO bad, I do not really think I'm good at it.

Any suggestions for a rookie player? I plan to play my first run on the easiest difficultly. 

I would LOVE to make either a Cipher or a Hunter (Lion pet sounds fun) Cipher seems cool and I thought I read you can give them a pistol, which is kinda neat.

Any tips to get me started? Anything to help push me a bit. The farthest I ever got was a bear cave.

Pro tip: don't go into the bear cave. :)

It's quite tough.

Come back later with more party members.

Is the game too hard? Or don't you know how to play these games?

I don't know about too hard, but I just feel it's a lot of information. I assume building your character well is important. I don't know what's best for what really for stats and classes. Yes it TELLS you, but in my experience that is more of a push to get you going rather than "That is always what you'll do".

Right. Well it IS a lot of information. :)

Just start on normal and pick what sounds best. You shouldn't have too many problems. During the game you'll understand better and better - maybe you want to restart, maybe not.

The game boils down to:

Accuracy vs. defense. Buff your accuracy and debuff enemies' defenses before you start to let your fists fly. If you do that you can't go exceptionally wrong. Watch out for spells/abilities/talents that grant bonuses to accuracy and also for those which disable/lower defenses/cause afflctions.

That's most important. Only then look at stuff like damage, health/endurance, armor and so on.

Deadfire Community Patch: Nexus Mods

Right. Well it IS a lot of information. :)

Just start on normal and pick what sounds best. You shouldn't have too many problems. During the game you'll understand better and better - maybe you want to restart, maybe not.