Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Ordikon's damage is inexplicably irreducible


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Foxoftheasterisk

Foxoftheasterisk

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 110 posts
Every time I fail to defeat Ordikon, his damage is impossible to reduce. I think it's regardless of what type he rolls but actually it might have been poison each time.

Attached File  artflow_201612100008.jpg   132.84KB   0 downloads

----
Android 6.0.1 on Nvidia Shield tablet K1
PFID #EC19BBE1B715AFA6
Story mode, Thassilonian Sins, normal difficulty
Pass and play and permadeath both off
Party of Merisiel, Kyra and Ezren

#2
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1686 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
Nothing on his card, the scenario description, or the location description indicates that his damage is irreducible.

Is this a bug or a poorly written card?

#3
Jenceslav

Jenceslav

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

Well, Arcane Armor cannot be used to prevent any non-Combat damage. So Fire, Acid, Poison and Electricity cannot be reduced and the spell has a lock on it (correctly).

Regarding the Sihedron Medallion (prevents all damage), didn't you perhaps use an item during the check to defeat Ordikon? If so, the "play only 1 type of a card into a check" rule applies. If not, then it is a bug.

 

The 1 card rule is often forgotten, especially with Snakesin Armor, Amulet of Mighty Fists, Sage's Journal and so on. You use it in the beginning of a combat to boost your chances and then wonder "Why oh why can't I use armor or Sihedron Ring to reduce the damage?!?"



#4
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1686 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
I know that you’re trying to be helpful, I really do. But nothing you just said addresses the point.

Different location, with different cards, I noticed the same issue. His damage is irreducible with no warning. Either it’s a bug (and the damage should be capable of being negated by armor), or his card needs to be updated.
  • Jenceslav likes this

#5
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1686 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

Same thing for the Mummy (deck 5)



#6
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1686 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!

Adding the Lamias in 4-4 to the list.



#7
269Hawkmoon

269Hawkmoon

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 137 posts

Well, Arcane Armor cannot be used to prevent any non-Combat damage. So Fire, Acid, Poison and Electricity cannot be reduced and the spell has a lock on it (correctly).

The screenshot shows Mirror Image, which can reduce any type of damage, as long as it is dealt by a monster and also can be played even if you already played a spell. So, something is definitely off.



#8
Jenceslav

Jenceslav

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

Well, Arcane Armor cannot be used to prevent any non-Combat damage. So Fire, Acid, Poison and Electricity cannot be reduced and the spell has a lock on it (correctly).

The screenshot shows Mirror Image, which can reduce any type of damage, as long as it is dealt by a monster and also can be played even if you already played a spell. So, something is definitely off.

 

Sorry :) It was definitely an oversight from me :( and I apologize for this. I usually throw away both Arcane Armor and Mirror Image immediately, so they probably got mixed in my head.

But if Ezren used a spell to defeat Ordikon, then he wouldn't be able to use Mirror Image at all ("1 card type per check" rule) even if Ordikon's damage was reducible as it should be.



#9
269Hawkmoon

269Hawkmoon

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 137 posts
Except, Mirror Image (and Arcane Armor) says you may play it even if you already played another spell on the check. It's power let's you break the 1 card of each type rule.
  • Jenceslav likes this

#10
Jenceslav

Jenceslav

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

Except, Mirror Image (and Arcane Armor) says you may play it even if you already played another spell on the check. It's power let's you break the 1 card of each type rule.

 

You are right again, but for my defense - I have experience mainly with the tabletop version (1st edition), where Mirror Image does not have this clause. This was apparently errata-ed and I didn't know that ;) The same was true for Arcane Armor, but here I remembered there was some change, based on the computer game...



#11
Achilles

Achilles

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1686 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer
  • Deadfire Gold Backer
  • Fig Backer
  • Black Isle Bastard!
Erylium (1-3 Villain) also goes on the list




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users