Jump to content
  • 0

Arcane Armor allowing recharge after unusable discard to Harpy Monk


Foxoftheasterisk

Question

Look at it recharging all wrapped up in chains.

post-167065-0-77411800-1480591699_thumb.jpg

 

Anyway yeah encountered Harpy Monk failed wisdom check and therefore also combat check discarded whole hand and Arcane Armor popped up with a recharge option (and check).

 

----

Android 6.0.1 on Nvidia Shield tablet K1

PFID #EC19BBE1B715AFA6

Story mode, The Black Tower, normal difficulty

Pass and play and permadeath both off

Party of Merisiel, Kyra and Ezren, all in City Gate after the harpy's checks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Theory: the 'you may not play' is a two piece code, and works something like:

1) When you encounter Harpy (Goblin Warchanter) - 'block' all weapons and spells ('chains' UI)

2) If player attempts to play Weapon/Spell - call up a Wisdom check

3) If check is failed - permanently block all weapons and ATTACK spells, other spells are actually playable, but still subject to the 'chains' effect imposed by 1) (which would be the obvious bug; maybe introduced by duplicating the Hag/Succubus/other 'Spell Resistance' code, without paying attention it's only limited to ATTACK spells)

 

From your screenshot - I'd guess the Arcane Armor was actually active, and when you discard it, the game actually reads it as 'play this card to reduce 2 Combat damage'; since you've already discarded the rest of your hand - you don't  get a 'Discard X cards' prompt (X reduced by 2 from the Arcane Armor effect) and you skip directly to the Recharge check.

 

All of the above is pure conjecture, of course.

  • Like 1

You can use the 'Mark Solved' button beneath a post that answers your topic or confirms it's not a bug.

The time that devs don't have to spend on the forum is a time they can spend on fixing the game.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Theory: the 'you may not play' is a two piece code, and works something like:

...

All of the above is pure conjecture, of course.

 

You're right.  Goblin Warchanter and the like first arrive with a "pending" restriction effect. 

From there, it either swaps to a permanent effect (for the turn/encounter/check), gets removed, or goes ignored when you find some other way to defeat the bane.

 

All the cards leverage the same framework.  It could support really fun stuff like: "Pass a Craft 16 check or you may not use non-basic items for the rest of the scenario."

 

 

Though, not sure how Arcane Armor slipped through and got offered the recharge.  Maybe the restriction temporarily dropped during the discard phase and it got activated?  Maybe the restriction was only for the duration of the check and the chains were just an artifact that the game didn't have a chance to clean up yet?  Trying to figure out why the game sometimes behaves as it does is a game unto itself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Theory: the 'you may not play' is a two piece code, and works something like:

1) When you encounter Harpy (Goblin Warchanter) - 'block' all weapons and spells ('chains' UI)

2) If player attempts to play Weapon/Spell - call up a Wisdom check

3) If check is failed - permanently block all weapons and ATTACK spells, other spells are actually playable, but still subject to the 'chains' effect imposed by 1) (which would be the obvious bug; maybe introduced by duplicating the Hag/Succubus/other 'Spell Resistance' code, without paying attention it's only limited to ATTACK spells)

The Harpy Monk works differently, though - the Wisdom check comes before the combat check, so step one and two are combined. I suspect it's different enough it'd have its own code.

 

Anyway, it's a theory but it wouldn't let me play the two Mirror Images that were in my hand so I think it's not quite on the nose.

 

From your screenshot - I'd guess the Arcane Armor was actually active, and when you discard it, the game actually reads it as 'play this card to reduce 2 Combat damage'; since you've already discarded the rest of your hand - you don't  get a 'Discard X cards' prompt (X reduced by 2 from the Arcane Armor effect) and you skip directly to the Recharge check.

 

All of the above is pure conjecture, of course.

I'm not sure what you're saying about not getting a discard prompt. I did get a prompt, it was just such a high number I had to discard my whole hand (even with a Sihedron amulet). Arcane Armor wasn't the last thing I discarded either. I wasn't paying enough attention to be sure if it reduced by one or two though.

 

Still my money's on something being wonky in Arcane Armor's recharge trigger rather than a problem with which spells are restricted. Maybe something they did to allow recharging if you're only taking one damage?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...