Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Kyra Healing ability reveal is discarding


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
zerhackermann

zerhackermann

    (0) Nub

  • Initiates
  • 3 posts

I just noticed that in my current play, Kyra's healing ability is discarding when the game prompts to reveal a card. 

 

I.e. Kyra has 4 cards in discard. She uses the ability to heal. Reveals a blessing and rolls a 4 (+1) for 5. The 4 discards are moved to the deck and the blessing is discarded. 

 

So then either:

 

The game should prompt to Discard to use the healing ability

OR

The game should put the revealed card back in the hand

 

Or am I missing something?

 

 



#2
Norinth

Norinth

    (0) Nub

  • Initiates
  • 4 posts

That's intentional.

The way it works is, you reveal first, then heal, then discard (just like the spell Cure). It's how it works in the tabletop game as well.



#3
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw
Id you read the power carefully, it says:
1. Reveal a card with Divine trait
2. Recharge 1d4+1 cards from discard pile of a target character at your location
3. THEN discard the revealed card

So, as Norinth said, it's working as intended.

Some cards are spelled like you say: "discard to do X" or "reveal to do X", while others are spelled like this power: "reveal, do X, then discard". This is the original card text. Don't know why the difference. I'd say that at Paizo they didn't make a common database of terms to use on cards.
This is also seen in some card that say "add 1 die to a check" while others say "add 1 die to any check".
Many things in Pathfinder are left to common sense, while people coming from very technically spelled card games (like Magic the gathering) may expect a bit more coherence on the wording

#4
zerhackermann

zerhackermann

    (0) Nub

  • Initiates
  • 3 posts

huh. I stand corrected.

 

Seems confused when you reveal a weapon and then put it back in your hand. And then why bother with the bonus? you end up only being healed for whats on the die anyhow. Why all the convolution? Just do "discard one to get whats on the die" 

 

Anyways....at least Im not thinking its a bug anymore. thanks



#5
JKNyte

JKNyte

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 5 posts
It's more the timing of where that revealed card is. The power is to heal cards currently in your discard pile, and the price of that power is a divine card going to the discard. If you discard first, then you can potential heal back that card you just discarded to trigger the power and be back to a full deck.

#6
Marginal0

Marginal0

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer

Like I reported earlier, it's not always working as intended. When you discard the Father he is banished after revealing him. (at least I seemed to recall that and found it odd)



#7
PinkRose

PinkRose

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

The Father is buried. Cure spells are discarded.

The reason you have to reveal first, then discard is that the creators didn't want the Cure to be one of the cards that was "healed".



#8
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw
@JKNyte: yeah, you're right. It's been too long since I last played the board game and I didn't realize that the two different wordings had this effect on the revealed card ;)

#9
Tootzo

Tootzo

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Steam:Izemax
  • Xbox Gamertag:Toothsaw

huh. I stand corrected.

Seems confused when you reveal a weapon and then put it back in your hand. And then why bother with the bonus? you end up only being healed for whats on the die anyhow. Why all the convolution? Just do "discard one to get whats on the die"

Anyways....at least Im not thinking its a bug anymore. thanks


It's not confusing. Reveal means show the card then put it back in your hand, like on most weapons, because they are meant to be reusable.
But if a card says "reveal, then discard", In the end the card gets discarded, but only AFTER its effect has been resolved, while by just saying "discard", the cards gets FIRST discarded and THEN its effect takes place. As JKNyte precisely pointed out, that's intended to avoid that the discarded card could be amongst the cards the effect is applied to.

#10
StormbringerGT

StormbringerGT

    Member

  • Members
  • 774 posts
  • Location:Irvine, CA
  • Steam:StormbringerGT
  • Xbox Gamertag:StormbringerGT
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

The intention was that Paizo didn't want you to cycle heal back into your deck as part of the heal.


  • zerhackermann and Tootzo like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users