Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

"Pit Trap" barrier had unaccounted for "-1" to defeat


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
_Harwin_

_Harwin_

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 122 posts

IPad Air, forget which IOS version.

 

Was doing Black Fang Dungeon Heroic, Wild card power was "Blood in the Sand" (Discarding >1 card to damage forces you to bury one of those)

 

In the "Desecrated Vault", on her first explore of the turn, Kyra encountered a "Pit Trap" and it showed a "-1" to her roll.   I tried multiple stats, and they all had it.  If there was some legitimate in-game reason I was supposed to have a -1, I couldn't figure out what it was.  So I assume it's a rules bug.

 

Attached is a picture I took of my game at that time.

Attached File  BadPitTrapRoll.jpg   136.53KB   0 downloads

 



#2
269Hawkmoon

269Hawkmoon

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 141 posts

FYI: I think if you click the magnifying glass that says "Black Fang's Dungeon" at the bottom of the location box, you should sell all the rules in effect at that moment. So if there was something giving you a -1, it would be listed there. Not that what you have isn't a bug, just letting you know how you can double check the rules. I missed noticing a rule when setting up a Heroic scenario one time and only caught it when I looked at that section during a check.



#3
_Harwin_

_Harwin_

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Yeah, I noticed I could click on the rules expansion later, when I thought I saw a different bug (the subtle difference between normal "all other characters encounter an ancient skeleton" and heroic "all characters encounter an ancient skeleton"

 

So I didn't check it at the time, but when I looked at the rules later (that same adventure), none of them looked like they should affect this check.

 

(But thanks for mentioning it anyway - since I hadn't noticed it until after playing about 5 scenarios)


Edited by _Harwin_, 29 April 2016 - 06:10 AM.


#4
StormbringerGT

StormbringerGT

    Member

  • Members
  • 774 posts
  • Location:Irvine, CA
  • Steam:StormbringerGT
  • Xbox Gamertag:StormbringerGT
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Lords of the Eastern Reach Backer

Thanks we'll look into communicating the usage of the effects panel. It is a super useful tool!

Also we'll look into this issue, from what I can tell nothing should be giving you a -1 to that roll.



#5
Sylvanta

Sylvanta

    Obsidian Alumni

  • Members
  • 151 posts

Just to add in, if you encountered and failed the Before You Act check vs a Bunyip, you'll have -1 to all checks for the rest of the turn.



#6
269Hawkmoon

269Hawkmoon

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 141 posts

That would be true. Though, the report in the first post specified it was the first exploration.



#7
_Harwin_

_Harwin_

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 122 posts

That would be true. Though, the report in the first post specified it was the first exploration.

 

Just in case my memory was wrong I looked at the image again, and I have 5/5 cards, so yeah this must be my first exploration.  If I had done a Bunyip first then I'd have had to spend a blessing/ally to explore again, and I'd be at 4 cards.  

 

I did encounter a Bunyip some time last night, it is possible it was on the exploration the previous turn - maybe that accidentally carried over? 



#8
_Harwin_

_Harwin_

    (3) Conjurer

  • Members
  • 122 posts

I've noticed that the Bunyip (and other powers) display a "scenario" power to the left like "Checks +1".  Since that's not in the screenshot, that shouldn't be the issue.



#9
da_mayor

da_mayor

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 537 posts
  • Location:Northern, VA, USA
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer

"Modify Difficulty +1" is the one I picked up from all the Haunts in The Cult Exposed.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users