What programming language was used or is used nowadays in game development?

for example if anyone knows what was the language used to create baldur's gate, icewind dale...?

What's the language used for Pillars?

In other games like League of Legends? Diablo III? Any infos / guess?

I'm not a developer and my knowledge is pretty vague, but as far as I know most games architecturally divided to engine handling rendering/os interactions/other low-mid-level stuff and game scripts telling the engine what to render. For engine development most sense would make C/C++ with few asm injections here and there. And shaders having their own magic. What language will be used for scripting (i.e. to actually build the game) on said engine depends on engine author's liking. Could be anything.

PoE's engine is Unity, which requires either C#, JavaScript or Boo for scripting. Though I'm not sure if someone really uses the last two.

Language that is used depends lots on platform/s and goals that you have for the game.

C/C++ are popular in engine programming because they are efficient languages and have good access to hardware

Java is sometimes used because of its cross-platform abilities, although one can't make as efficient programs and platform specific things are much harder if not impossible to use, which of course don't prevent one to make popular games like Minecraft with it. Java is reliant to Java Virtual Machine or some other virtual machine which can interpret Java bytecode for the computer.

In web platforms JavaScript and other ECMAScript variants like ActionScript for Adove/Apache Flex (flash) are popular for both engine programming and scripting.

Many commercial engines use their own languages for scripting, but they are often influenced heavily by C++/Java/Python/Lua/(Visual/Quick)Basic