I was thinking about magic use in RPGs and would really love it if this game did not use the massively over used mana system. I think it'd also be pretty cool if magic wasn't mostly reactive and combat based.

Some random ideas and things I'd like to see...

• Spells you had to plan ahead to use
  • Maybe you need reagents
  • the use of symbols/runes/glyphs on your gear/weapons or the ground
  • an altar of some kind
  • sacfice something to gain something
  • all of the above

If I'm playing a mage I'd like also to see and use magic in every aspect of the game, to see/feel/hear things others don't, to bypass problems that other classes may have greater issues with. I don't want it just to be the magic unlock and the magic persuasion.

I'm no game designer and so I'll leave it up to you lovely devs to sort it all out, but I just thought I should throw that out there.

Anyone else have any thoughts on the matter?

If we're talking about ritual magic, then requiring advanced preparation makes sense to me. I don't really like when games make you prepare more conventional spells in advance, though (e.g. the Vancian magic system). When you have to memorize how to cast a lightning bolt but then forget it as soon as you cast it, it makes magic feel... not very magic. I don't know, I've just never got the D&D magic system. It has always made magic feel week and awkward to me.

Being able to cast powerful spells through a ritual system that employed some of the stuff that OP suggests would be kind of neat, but I'm not sure how much of a dynamic system you could make within the confines of a computer game. Having to work a ritual in a specific instance as part of the plot would work, but being able to use it in unscripted ways seems like it would be difficult to program. I guess it could work for stuff like summoning.

• Like 1