Jump to content

Odd numbers resulting from double damage criticals

Recommended Posts

Ex. from combat feedback log:


Atton succeeds with attack on kinrath...critical hit!


Damage Breakdown: Critical x 2 for 26 = 7 unstoppable + 19 sneak attack


I'm not understanding the 7 here - maybe I'm interpreting this incorrectly, but wouldn't I have to have scored a damage roll of 3.5 (impossible) in order for the resulting double damage to be 7? There are no other damage modifiers on the pistol i'm using (the damage is 1d6) - thanks for any insights.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Skywhacker :ninja:

kirottu said:
I was raised by polar bears. I had to fight against blood thirsty wolves and rabid penguins to get my food. Those who were too weak to survive were sent to Sweden.


It has made me the man I am today. A man who craves furry hentai.

So let us go and embrace the rustling smells of unseen worlds

Link to comment
Share on other sites

EDIT: ^What he said^

A critical hit involves not double damage but a second damage roll, which makes odd numbers possible.

Since when?


Maybe in this game, but in the D20 rules, a crit is double or triple damage. That is why they have to specify what damage is added before or after you double.


No, it is not the sum multiplied, if means you rolle the dice multiple times. A great axe's x3 means you roll the damage three times, not a single roll multiplied by 3.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...