So this is my first time playing Deadfire and I'm no expert at these type of games, much as I love them. I'm just playing on normal.

I wanted to try Ascendant Cipher (I don't wanna be pure melee so no Soul Blade.) + some type of Barbarian but not sure which.

I just don't know which stats I can afford to dump. Some builds I have found say you can dump CON but I dunno about that. Maybe pro players can but I am afraid.

Do I need Perception or can I at least lower it to 7 or 8? 

I know everyone dumps Resolve but I consider stats to be important for roleplaying. Low Resolve doesn't fit my ideas for my character. I suppose I could just come up with a different character idea.

And so I'm just kinda lost. Maxing Dexterity or Intellect seem like the way to go but after that...I got nothing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Edited by nikkolasmical@gmail.com

For a Ascendant Witch I'd recommend that you max INT (for long periods of ascension) and go for relatively high PER, so you can crit a lot. DEX should be relatively high as well for speed, fast recovery and overall DPS. Your STR doesn't need to be too high, since you'll get fury and cipher damage boosts. Personally I would keep CON at 10, although you can lower it if you like living dangerously. RES can be dumped if you're not going for a melee build.

6 hours ago, nikkolasmical@gmail.com said:

So this is my first time playing Deadfire and I'm no expert at these type of games, much as I love them. I'm just playing on normal.

I wanted to try Ascendant Cipher (I don't wanna be pure melee so no Soul Blade.) + some type of Barbarian but not sure which.

I just don't know which stats I can afford to dump. Some builds I have found say you can dump CON but I dunno about that. Maybe pro players can but I am afraid.

Do I need Perception or can I at least lower it to 7 or 8?