Constant crashing

Master_Kenobi

Question

Hello there.

This will be a very long post, so bare with me.

Recently (28th of January) i bought Pillars of Eternity 2: Deadfire - Obsidian Edition via gog.com. After the game installed i decided to play it the next day (29th of January).

During one hour of playtime i had 4 crashes:

Crash no.1: As soon as i started playing the game (right after your character needs to go out and face the pirates). A report of the crash was generated.

Crash no.2: Entering Kraken's Eye (tavern in Port Maje) via southern entrance. A report of the crash was not generated, i immediately ended up looking at my desktop.

Crash no.3: Exiting Kraken's Eye, again via southern entrance. A report of the crash was generated.

Crash no.4: Exiting Port Maje jail. A report of the crash was generated.

In conclusion, the crashes are happening when i'm changing zones, either exiting or entering. 

Later the same day i verified/repaired the game using the galaxy client but sadly the situation did not improve. It resulted again with the crash, even faster than before. i was immediately kicked from the game, with another crash report being generated. this time i was exiting Rinco's place.

After I've send a ticket to gog.com support, i received a mail where i was instructed to do a clean reinstall of my graphics card drivers, install/repair Visual C++ Redistributable Packages, run the game as administrator, add exception to the firewall and perform a clean install of them game.

In short, after applying most of the solutions i have mentioned before and playing a short, 1 hour long session, i haven't encountered any crashes whatsoever. Speaking more in detail:

1) I performed a clean install of drivers for my graphics device.

2) I have reinstalled (repaired) all Visual C++ Redistributable Packages. I did not have 2015 (x64) version installed, but i had 2017 (x64) one. Therefore i deleted the 2017 one and installed 2015 one.