Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Chime of Unlocking


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
PinkRose

PinkRose

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

Lem had Chime of unlocking.
Lini encountered Large Chest
Same location, Warrens

 

Shouldn't Lem be able to use the Chime to eliminate the Large Chest?

 

 



#2
icdumppl

icdumppl

    (1) Prestidigitator

  • Members
  • 34 posts
Sadly no.......

This falls under the general rule/tips of Cards do what they say but not what they don't say and Only you can take your turn for you

Cause the card says reveal to defeat a barrier with lock trait that would be Lem defeating it not Lini. :(

It would need to say reveal to allow a character to defeat or reveal to allow a character at your location to defeat

Yes it would of been so much easier if they just clarfied on the card that it has to be something you encounter but they didnt.....

Other cards that fall under the same principal
Caltrops
Holy water, first power-evading

#3
Longshot11

Longshot11

    (7) Enchanter

  • Members
  • 813 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer


Yes it would of been so much easier if they just clarfied on the card that it has to be something you encounter but they didnt.....

 

Actually, Obsidian updated the text of Masterwork Tools and Holy Water's second power to prevent exactly this particular misunderstanding, so obviously they're Okay with the concept of rewording for clarity. Maybe the chime of unlocking just slipped through the cracks?

 

With Holy Water's first power and similar cards - I guess you just have to draw the line somewhere. I think a player that's investing in this game can be expected to know that only the active character can evade his encounter, and so, only they can play cards that say "Do X to evade".



#4
PinkRose

PinkRose

    (5) Thaumaturgist

  • Members
  • 582 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

Great answer!

So, we just need Obsidian to change the text to match Masterwork Tools.

Oh StormHugger!!






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users