[3.0] All kinds of bugs with novices suffering

Doppelschwert

Question

I'm not sure if this was an issue before, but novices suffering (henceforth NS) seems malfunction in a lot of calculations so the talent is much much weaker than it should be.

As suggested by Andrea Columbo in another thread, I think the problem is that the bonus damage does not count as base damage but instead as a modifier that is added at the end of damage calculations and may even be surpressed.

I'm running a party of all "martial artists" at the moment, that is, everyone is using this talent and their fists as weapons. So far, I thought I just suck at PotD since it's my first time on that difficulty and my damage output seems really low compared to hard difficulty, but checking the combat log revealed that there is something wrong behind the scenes.

I'm doing way less damage than I'm supposed to in some instances, in particular my rogue.

So far, the following seems off:

1)

Weapon Specialication: Peasant (Fighter) does not work at all, but works on other weapons from the group. Nothing about being surpressed is shown, but the effect itself is not shown in the status summary either.

2)

Damage Calculation is somehow off. My Rogue has 16-20 base damage:

According to tooltip: 5-8 fist + 9 NS (LVL 7) + 9% Might + 20% Reckless Aussault

But this should yield (14-17) *(1+0.09+0.2) = 18,06 - 21,93 so 1-2 damage more (depending on rounding).

My Paladin has 17-21 base damage:

According to tooltip: 5-8 fist + 9 NS + 24% Might

This turns out to be right in calculating.

3)

When my rogue crits with a sneak attack, I get a value of 26 damage from a base of 16-20 (before DR). How is this possible? I can only imagine that working if all the multipliers are applied to the base range 5-8 and 9 is added on top at the end.

EDIT: Just confirmed that this is the same for everyone with NS in my party. When they crit with their fists its always around the upper bound of their normal damage range.