New player needs help

BelialRus

Hey guys, Im new to beta and I missed a lot of discussion, can you fill me in on some things:

- Many spells dont have any effect or have very little, some abilities dont seem to work at all

Examples: lvl 1 burning hands deal 30-50 damage per use, but "minor missles" deal about 2 dmg each. Lvl 2 necrotic lance deal like 2 dot per round, fireballs deals 10-20 damage for me (all cast by the same mage). Is this a beta thing or monster resistance etc? Lvl 3 "fear" spell doesnt seem to work

- Often , when I try to use ability it just wont start, my character keeps on using his basic atack. This is a bug? How can I tell when I can cast spells/abilities and when I cannot?

- Where can I see which "afflictions" (weakened, sickened etc) enemies have and what these affllictions do?

- Any way to see how much damage abilities deal?

- What are good attributes for each class? It seems sometimes its good to have high STR on mages :/

- My 19 DEX mage casts same spells slower than my 12 DEX mage. What kind of attributes affect cast speed?

- Sometimes there is huge cooldown after using a spell/ability , sometimes almost no cooldown, what does it depend on?

- BB Wizard has 3 lvl 3 spells , PC only gets 1. What's the deal?

Is there some kind of lists of good/bad spells/abilities in this build? General tips on building characters? 

I know D&D ruleset well, but this game is very confusing and counter-intuitive :(

I will try to throw you a bone on some of these...

1: Spell effects.  Spells still have to hit just like everything else so a spell can graze, some armors and enemies even have DR (damage reduction) versus some spell types.  So yes it is very possible for a spell on one cast to be bad ass, then cast it again and it does almost nothing.  It is also possible for a spell that is on paper the better damage dealer do less damage than a spell that looks weaker on paper due to resistances etc.