Cyclic Redundancy Check

roshan

When I try to install games from some old and scratched cds to my new laptop, i keep getting these cyclic redundancy check errors(i have a dvd writer multi drive). However, the cds work fine in other pcs. Is there any way that I can fix these problems or do i need to buy a regular cd player to be able to play the cds?

Not sure how you can fix it but essencially what it means is your reader isn't reading the cd correctly and it's basically farting and saying there is data missing. I suppose you could try some kinda virtual drive, and litterally copy the CD to it. Not sure how that would turn out.

Or you could read the CD from the the drive that reads it, and then network it to your laptop HD. That wouldn't be a fun job... Basically what I'd do is make a copy on a PC that can read it, and see how you fair with that.

RS_Silvestri_01.jpg

"I'm a programmer at a games company... REET GOOD!" - Me

Damn. I think Ill have to buy an external cd rom drive for my laptop or something so that i can run the cds, or burn new copies of them.

Sounds to me like the CD's are hammered. No need to shell out serious money, just burn a copy somewhere else if you can, it's certainly not the reader though i imagine the laser should be finer, thusly the problem reading scratched CD's.

RS_Silvestri_01.jpg

"I'm a programmer at a games company... REET GOOD!" - Me