Jump to content
  • 0

Seoni's Fire Blast timing


Longshot11

Question

Seoni can reveal Sage's Journal (but presumably also anu other card that can similarly affect a combat check), and THEN she can discard it to activate her Fire Blast ability.

 

Maybe this is a design decision, but this contradicts the card game rules, as a character must first determine the skill for his combat check (reveal weapon, discard spell, Seoni's Fire Blast), and only then can other cards be played to modify his dice and bonuses. Ergo, if Seoni has to discard the Journal to activate the Fire Blast - she shouldn't be able to reveal it and get its bonus.

  • Like 1

You can use the 'Mark Solved' button beneath a post that answers your topic or confirms it's not a bug.

The time that devs don't have to spend on the forum is a time they can spend on fixing the game.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Seoni can reveal Sage's Journal (but presumably also anu other card that can similarly affect a combat check), and THEN she can discard it to activate her Fire Blast ability.

 

Maybe this is a design decision, but this contradicts the card game rules, as a character must first determine the skill for his combat check (reveal weapon, discard spell, Seoni's Fire Blast), and only then can other cards be played to modify his dice and bonuses. Ergo, if Seoni has to discard the Journal to activate the Fire Blast - she shouldn't be able to reveal it and get its bonus.

So, Hawkmoon Longshot, technically you are correct.

 

However we approached it this way for a couple of different reasons. As the end result is largely the same and it doesn't unbalance the game.

 

Good catch though. Have you ever consider QA as a job? ;)

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

 

Seoni can reveal Sage's Journal (but presumably also anu other card that can similarly affect a combat check), and THEN she can discard it to activate her Fire Blast ability.

 

Maybe this is a design decision, but this contradicts the card game rules, as a character must first determine the skill for his combat check (reveal weapon, discard spell, Seoni's Fire Blast), and only then can other cards be played to modify his dice and bonuses. Ergo, if Seoni has to discard the Journal to activate the Fire Blast - she shouldn't be able to reveal it and get its bonus.

 

Good catch though. Have you ever consider QA as a job? ;)

 

Matter of fact, been there, done that :)

  • Like 1

You can use the 'Mark Solved' button beneath a post that answers your topic or confirms it's not a bug.

The time that devs don't have to spend on the forum is a time they can spend on fixing the game.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...