Windows Vista Problem (Almost works)

Hello, I am new to the Obsidian forums and don't know if this particular problem has been solved for yet or addressed, so please bear with me:

I am currently running Windows Vista Home Premium on an HP DV6000 with 2.0 GB RAM and 140 GB hard drive. I have Mobile Intel ® 945 GM Express Chipset Family with ATI Display Drivers. I installed KOTOR II from the CD's no problem. Then, I configure the game to my PC settings. I click on "Game" and it starts up fine. I am able to at least customize my character and hit the "Play" button. The game loads, then takes me to the beginning movie. However, after that, the screen goes black and reads, "KOTOR II must close because it encountered a problem." Is there something I'm missing?

After the first time this happened I searched google to no avail. However, I did learn that there was a patch, v1.0b, that supposedly fixed some of the crashes that occured at certain points in the game. I mistakenly thought this patch could solve my problem. Even after installing the patch it crashes at the same time. Then I thought there might be something wrong with my graphics card but, unless I am mistaken, since I could customize my character without problems I should be able to play the game as well.

Is there anything that I'm missing? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hello, and welcome to the forums. :)

Your problem might be related to Vista or to how Kotor2 plays movies, as both have been known to cause problems. For Vista, I recommend you have a look at the FAQ and see if any of the fixes there work for you. You should also probably check the LucasArts Tech forum. For the movies, I can't remember all the problems and fixes, I'm afraid. A quick search yielded this, which might be worth a try. I'd suggest also doing a search for your video card etc. to see if others with the same components have found this problem.

I hope this helps. :thumbsup: