Origins of developer

tr-Thanatos

Hello all Developers/want-to-be-developers,

Quite simply, this is a thread where one can post how they got into the game development industry, how they cut their teeth in learning to be a developer(for example, from who/what you learned DirectX), and what their goals as a developer have been.

ok,with me:

I dont plan on being a prof. game developer, I am mainly more of a hobbyist. Therefore, I really dont have that much interaction with the game development community, atleast not as much as I would want. I have been a programmer for under 2 years, and during that time I have tought myself C/C++/PERL/PHP and the OpenGL and Win32 APIs. I am currently working on learning DirectX, but I am mainly focusing on getting linux programming skills under my belt as I love the open-source community. My goals as a Hobbyist mainly have been to learn as much as I can about a broad subject, and to improve my math skills, as well as push the boundries of hardware(although so far, not in the way I would like,i.e. memory overflows).

• 2 weeks later...

Hiya tr-Thanatos,

I'm a Developer and a HUGE fan of Black Isle / Obsidian games. About five years ago I broke into the industry via a Production Assistant internship at a fairly high profile strategy game company (who I won't name here).

I believe that I got my big break because of my approach and my background.

I had an *extremely* refined and articulate cover letter / resume. At the time I realized that this would be extremely important because of the sheer amount of competition that I would be facing for the internship position. I took the time to make sure that the presentation of my resume was really slick. I really put a lot of time into the effort and spared no expense when making copies and mailing my resume. I used the best possible paper the local copy shop had access to, enclosed it in a pretty nice report-binder, and shipped it via FedEx.