Specifically Detail Difficulty Settings?

So I'm initially starting up my very first playthrough of POE, and the ego kicks in with sticking it on hard because I'm a veteran of IE games, but also because I'm a veteran of games, I'd like to know exactly what that means...

Poop tonnes of HP, turning bosses into gods with Godzilla familiars, boosting their stats, doubling their damage output, and all that.  Improved AI I can reason through, and more enemies per map is great, but if any of the above is in - I'm pretty happy leaving it on with normal.

Thanks.

You only get 2 camping supplies (2 rests before resupplying) and you'll encounter more creatures and more difficult encounter composition. To my knowledge that's about it, neither creature nor character stats get changed at all.

Edited by Fenixp
  • Like 1

For easy, normal and hard enemy stats remain the same, there are just more of them and possibly harder variants the higher the difficulty. For example, an encounter on easy might consist of a wolf and two young wolves, on normal it might be two wolves and two young wolves and on hard it might be two wolves and three young wolves (this example is entirely invented). The important thing to remember is the individual wolves and young wolves won't get stronger the harder the difficulty, there are just more of them.

On PotD all enemies get +15 accuracy and deflection and, I think, a bonus to the health pool and other saves. This is where the real noticeable change in difficulty occurs. I have no idea what story mode changes, but I assume it's a sort of reverse PotD.

Given your preference, I'd suggest playing on hard. Enemy stats remain balanced as normal, you'll just face a few more of them. I will warn you that if you are a veteran of IE games you might find hard mode quite easy, particularly once you get past act I, but if you're not opposed to playing the game more than once you can always play PotD on your next playthrough.