Hello everyone.  I'm an Infinity Engine veteran and am really enjoying Pillars so far.  I have been playing through the game on normal to get a hang of the mechanics, but I decided to reroll and do a POTD playthrough. I was hoping to get some advice from those of you who have played POTD already. 

I have some min-max tendencies, so I plan on creating a full party of 6.  My current planned party looks like this:

Chanter (tank)

Fighter (tank)

Cipher (ranged)

Rogue (ranged)

Priest (support/heal)

Druid or Wizard (nuker/disabler)

So my question for you guys is this: should my 6th party member be a Druid or a Wizard?  

My general understanding is that Druids have better damage nukes, and that Wizards have better control/debuffs.  So I guess another way to phrase the question is: will I have enough control/debuff with Chanter/Cipher/Priest/Druid?  Or is the Wizard control in POTD too good to pass up (especially considering I have a sneak attack Rogue in the mix)?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

You'll stomp everything either way. Wizard has a slight edge in controls and debuffs as they are easier to use (although it's still debatable because druid also gets prone spell, even if later, but then he gets a spell with petrify on it a level earlier than wizard), but remember that druid also comes with extra heals, party buffs, better summons and a save-from-combat spell.

Edited by Shadenuat

• 1 month later...

Ditch the Chanter, use both Wizard and Druid.

Ditch the Rogue, use Paladin, Barbarian or Monk.

Ditch the Fighter, use Paladin, Barbarian or Monk.

Don't double Paladin, Barbarian or Monk though, that's a waste.

Hell while I'm at it... perfect party, imo:

Paladin

Monk/Barbarian

Priest

Druid

Wizard

Wizard/Cipher/Druid

Edited by Psychevore