Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Build Thread 2.0


  • Please log in to reply
528 replies to this topic

#501
Bartimaeus

Bartimaeus

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1714 posts
  • Steam:Ask!
That's likely because of the fan kicking in harder as it reaches higher temperatures...and then dropping again when it gets so low. If that's the case, then yeah, that probably suggests you need better cooling, and replacing the thermal paste would certainly be a good idea to start with.

#502
Bokishi

Bokishi

    Graphics Lord

  • Members
  • 6417 posts
  • Location:Hutt Space

i noticed that at idle the temperature jumps up to 49C and then slowly goes down to 35C then jumps up again... i think this is a sign of the thermal paste gone bad. haven't changed it since i got the CPU about 3 years ago

 

I've noticed that same jumping temp behavior on two different 7700K systems and even my 6700K, but if it's shutting down then then try another cooler or reapply thermal paste



#503
teknoman2

teknoman2

    (9) Sorcerer

  • Members
  • 1361 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

the cooler is an Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 with almost double the TDP rating of the CPU (200W vs 125W), that's why i think it's a contact problem aka the paste. i will buy some but living out in the sticks it will probably take some time to get here


Edited by teknoman2, 01 July 2017 - 09:54 PM.


#504
Sarex

Sarex

    (12) Mage

  • Members
  • 1857 posts

i noticed that at idle the temperature jumps up to 49C and then slowly goes down to 35C then jumps up again... i think this is a sign of the thermal paste gone bad. haven't changed it since i got the CPU about 3 years ago

 

That's not that long, although it could be crappy paste.



#505
teknoman2

teknoman2

    (9) Sorcerer

  • Members
  • 1361 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

the super hot weather passed and now my pc runs again at a more reasonable temperature.

of course it may haven't even been the temperature but a power issue from the UPS but since yesterday i didn't encounter the sudden shut downs i got while playing games in the past few days



#506
Azdeus

Azdeus

    (6) Magician

  • Members
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Sweden. The ass-end of nowhere, on the right hand side.

the super hot weather passed and now my pc runs again at a more reasonable temperature.

of course it may haven't even been the temperature but a power issue from the UPS but since yesterday i didn't encounter the sudden shut downs i got while playing games in the past few days

 

Did you clean out the PSU aswell or just the cpu, gpu and chassis fans?



#507
teknoman2

teknoman2

    (9) Sorcerer

  • Members
  • 1361 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

 

the super hot weather passed and now my pc runs again at a more reasonable temperature.

of course it may haven't even been the temperature but a power issue from the UPS but since yesterday i didn't encounter the sudden shut downs i got while playing games in the past few days

 

Did you clean out the PSU aswell or just the cpu, gpu and chassis fans?

 

of course and i changed the batteries of the UPS. at first i thought the shut downs were from sudden loss of power due to the primitive power lines because i knew that the UPS batteries were on their last legs, but they kept happening even after i got new batteries. the thing that made me say it was a temperature problem was that the RX470 has never gone above 65C and after the undervolting it barely ever goes above 60C, but the last few days it was exceeding 70C. and while i don't monitor CPU temps usually, the few times i did look at them while the Fx8350 was under load, they were about 69-72C and the last few days i saw them at 78-83C. today that its not so hot, the 470 was back to under 65C and the CPU was at around 75C

so i guess it was the extremely hot weather to cause the problem, but still some new paste could be useful.


Edited by teknoman2, 04 July 2017 - 06:50 AM.


#508
Bokishi

Bokishi

    Graphics Lord

  • Members
  • 6417 posts
  • Location:Hutt Space

Put some rgb led strips in my glass tower, now it's all rave party mode

 


  • kirottu, ShadySands and Azdeus like this

#509
Azdeus

Azdeus

    (6) Magician

  • Members
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Sweden. The ass-end of nowhere, on the right hand side.

Need some ideas guys, I've got some annoyances with my computer.

1. If I turn off the computer, it gets an overclocking failure at boot. All I have to do is enter bios and exit it again for it to boot properly.

2. When I reboot the system, it occasionally only finds one of the ram-sticks. Fix? Enter bios and exit it again.

 

I'm running the RAM at 3200@1.35V but it doesn't matter what clocks I run them at.

 

Bad motherboard or RAM sticks?



#510
Bartimaeus

Bartimaeus

    (11) Wizard

  • Members
  • 1714 posts
  • Steam:Ask!

I'd say motherboard. I have a similar problem with my ASUS Maximus in regards to the "failure at boot", and always assumed it was the motherboard. Not a big enough of a deal for me to bother replacing it. The RAM problem, on the other hand, I don't have, and that would probably be a big enough of a deal for me to want to replace it.


  • Azdeus likes this

#511
Bokishi

Bokishi

    Graphics Lord

  • Members
  • 6417 posts
  • Location:Hutt Space
How many sticks you running? I had to pull out two sticks and downgrade to 32 GB so I can run them at 3200. Overclocking 4 sticks of 64GB is too hard on the memory controller and led to bsods and overclocking boot failures

#512
Zoraptor

Zoraptor

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 2473 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

FlareX CL14 2x8, posted a couple of pages back. That's meant to be the best and most reliable option for Ryzen so it shouldn't be a RAM compatibility issue. And FlareX is tested pretty thoroughly as well.

 

I can't really suggest anything other than the obvious like swapping the slots the RAM are in over and testing with other RAM if available. I only had one problem with RAM and Ryzen and  that was solved by turning off XMP, but I presume that isn't the issue here. Given that ASUS AM4 boards had some teething troubles I'd suspect it's the culprit as well.

 

My old ASUS motherboard also had a bios/ boot failure issue. It had a disappearing RAM issue as well, but that was solved by swapping the sticks around and never recurred.


  • Azdeus likes this

#513
Azdeus

Azdeus

    (6) Magician

  • Members
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Sweden. The ass-end of nowhere, on the right hand side.

Did try to swap the sticks around, but no real improvement there, still recieved only 8gb at boot a about 3 out of 5 times when rebooting. I did try setting my cpu overclock to all manual though and that did seem to resolve the OC error on boot, so there is that. The auto OC feature seemed to have some problems. Now my niggle is cpu heat instead since I'm consistently at 3.9Ghz.



#514
Bokishi

Bokishi

    Graphics Lord

  • Members
  • 6417 posts
  • Location:Hutt Space
Try loosening your CPU cooler slightly? If your cooler is on too tight it could crush the pins and make the dimm slots not work correctly. Happened to me before

#515
Azdeus

Azdeus

    (6) Magician

  • Members
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Sweden. The ass-end of nowhere, on the right hand side.

I'll try that out later, I think I'm going to buy some new paste before I do that and have a looksee. I'm not too pleased about "idling" at 47C since my cpu voltage usually lies at about 1.37-1.4, I'm usually pretty good about not overtightening though, my father was pretty adamant about such things but it's worth looking into anyway.



#516
Bokishi

Bokishi

    Graphics Lord

  • Members
  • 6417 posts
  • Location:Hutt Space
The 570x case was unfortunately rushed to the market late last year with an unfinished PSU cover that showed all the fugly excess wires.

So my coworkers machined and painted a custom shroud end for me

F9QRU5Qh.jpg
  • Deadly_Nightshade and Azdeus like this

#517
SonicMage117

SonicMage117

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 2074 posts
  • Location:Texas, United States
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer
My secondary pc is an Alienware Alpha with supposedly an 860m gtx 2gb that is non-upgradable as it was said to be soldered unto the motherboard. However, someone made a video of upgrading it with a 1080? Weird.

#518
teknoman2

teknoman2

    (9) Sorcerer

  • Members
  • 1361 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

a few months ago, my brother changed his FX6300 with a ryzen 1600 but he kept the old mobo+cpu+ram+cooler, and we still had an old HD4850, so now i got a case+screen+psu+hdd and made a PC for my mother to replace her VERY old laptop that with a mere 2GB of ram could not even run a single window of chrome without running out of memory and having to use the just as old hdd for very slow virtual memory.

she doesn't use use any complicated or heavy stuff (i.e games) and is mostly going on facebook, youtube and other sites or uses MS office so having a computer that does not freeze after every click is a huge upgrade for her

EDIT

now this is strange. when i made that pc for my mother, i changed the thermal paste on the CPU and putting the cooler back on, the base was centered on the CPU

today i changed paste on my FX8350 and i noticed that the cooler is not sitting on the center... and i use the same motherboard and cooler as the other pc

when i first put the paste on the temperature seemed to be a bit high but as the paste bonded well with the two metal surfaces, it started going down rapidly. the jumping around is still there but now it jumps between 33 and 41 while idle instead of 35-49. the problem is that because my screen is VGA and the RX470 only has digital output, i have to use a signal converter that only activates when windows is on so i can't access the BIOS to see if there is any setting about the fan i can change


Edited by teknoman2, 13 July 2017 - 12:36 AM.


#519
SonicMage117

SonicMage117

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 2074 posts
  • Location:Texas, United States
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer

Edited by SonicMage117, 14 July 2017 - 05:05 PM.


#520
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4646 posts

I have a 1070 and I find myself playing one or two notches below 4k in new games because it lets me max out everything else. 4k even on medium is kinda choppy. I can't really tell the difference most of the time. Resolution isn't everything. I'd rather have a stable framerate.

 

Older less demanding games you can play though. Borderlands 2 looks gorgeous in 4k. 


  • SonicMage117 likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users