Jump to content

Welcome to Obsidian Forum Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Another one of those upgrade threads.


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#81
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
This was supposed to be a budget system, where did all my money go all of a sudden.

#82
Gorth

Gorth

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderators
  • 10654 posts
  • Location:Australia

Oddly enough asus PC probe, which is bundled with the mobo, has the CPU at 43 cel. The Bios has it at 62. Both are asus, who is right... =]

Asus


62 does sound a bit on the high side ;(

Edit:

This was supposed to be a budget system, where did all my money go all of a sudden.


Scary, isn't it? I spent my bonus and then some (and I don't even have a decent gfx card yet)

#83
samm

samm

    (8) Warlock

  • Members
  • 1167 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer

Oddly enough asus PC probe, which is bundled with the mobo, has the CPU at 43 cel. The Bios has it at 62. Both are asus, who is right... =]

PC Probe does nothing but reading the values from the BIOS. If you're viewing your BIOS during startup however, your CPU runs under full speed, in Windows when "idle", it uses current saving mechanisms and thus stays cooler.

Before installing the new heatsink, clean your CPU from all remains of the Intel thermal pad, and apply only a very thin layer of thermal paste (unless the new cooler comes with pre-applied stuff, too).

Edited by samm, 13 August 2008 - 03:54 AM.


#84
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
According to what I have been able to find out, you are all wrong. No only is 65 degrees not high, it is in fact the default target temperature set by most 775 socket motherboards. What that means is that if the cpu is below 65 degrees the temperature control unit will automatically reduce the fan speed untill it reaches 65 to reduce noise. This fits perfectly with what I have observed if, as Bokshi says, the cpu is under full load while observed in the bios and affected by power saving mechanisms while in windows.

You might think it sounds like a lot, but thats just an overclocker\s subjective opinion. The processor is rated to run at 65.

It all depends on the exact stepping and model of the CPU. This is an overclocked example of my processor from a a core 2 temperature listing at Tom\s hardware forums.

Example 2: Duo

Tcase = 25c Idle, 60c Load (SpeedFan: CPU or Temp x)
Tjunction average Core = 29c Idle, 67c Load (SpeedFan: Core x)

Ambient = 22c
Chipset = P45
CPU = E8400
CPU Cooler= Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Frequency = 4.0 Ghz
Load = Prime95 - Small FFT`s - 10 minutes
Motherboard = Asus P5Q Deluxe
Stepping = C0
Vcore Load = 1.325

http://www.tomshardw...mperature-guide

This is from the manual of an artic cooling Freezer 7 I borrowed.

All of our socket 775 coolers come with a pwm controller chip in the motor according to intels specifications, This allows the BIOS to to control the fan precisely. In case the fan is not regulated according to CPU load respective temperature, enter the BIOS. Most socket 775 mainboards offer a target CPU temperature. Set it to 65ēC , what this means is that the BIOS tries to keep the CPU around 65ēC and thus lowers the fan speed as much as possible.

Edited by Gorgon, 13 August 2008 - 10:26 AM.


#85
samm

samm

    (8) Warlock

  • Members
  • 1167 posts
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Silver Backer
  • Fig Backer
Mm... okay, if they say so... They design coolers, not me, so they're the authority there. I just know that I only feel comfortable with my CPU under 60° at load.
(I'm not "Bokshi" :()

Edited by samm, 13 August 2008 - 11:41 AM.


#86
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
I\ll be honest, I mostly remember people from their avatars. Hell I can\t remember the names of half the people I work with and I\ve been there for a year. >_<

#87
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
So I couldn\t wait and I bought the arctic cooler off him, and well, it kinda destroys the whole concept of big slow moving fans on the mobo . It is louder than the stock cooler, but cheap, I can get another cooler if I decide its too annoying.

It shows 23 degrees in the bios and 15 degrees in windows. Sadly it does not appear that maximus formula has fan RPM controls. Or can set a target CPU temperature, I guess this is because it\s basically an enthusiast oc board, and not concerned with noise.

Edited by Gorgon, 13 August 2008 - 01:40 PM.


#88
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
Ahh brilliant, I found it, in a sub menu of a sub menu, that made a huge difference in noise set to autoadjust performance mode. >_<

#89
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
So one last update, after I discovered that all the fans in the case can be regulated from the outside, and set the CPU fan lower. The thing runs very silent, the quietest system I have ever had, you would have to look at the front LEDS to even know it was on. I can then flick the fans to a higher setting when doing an extended gaming session. I can heartily recommend this case.

One small worry is that the maximus formula northbridge runs very hot, it hovers around 42-45 degrees, making it the hottest component in the system by more than 10 degrees. Maybe the big passive coolers means it doesn't benefit as directly from the four case fans.

#90
CoM_Solaufein

CoM_Solaufein

    Obsidian VIP

  • Members
  • 5116 posts
  • Location:The Frozen North
  • Steam:apocalypse_2000
Yes the North bridge does run hot. You would think that those huge heat sinks would spread out the heat. The good thing with my Antec 900 case is the 200mm fan that sits above the North bridge, able to blow air right on it.

#91
Gorgon

Gorgon

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4767 posts
I have a question though, do ancient PCI cards fit in the new PCI express 2 motherboards, is it just a few slots that are PCI express or are there legacy options.

We are about to shift from analog to digital broadcast format, it will happen sometime next year, and there still remains questions about what chip will be needed for reception, I have a PCI card with analog input signal and chips that are in all likelyhood incompatibe with furture broadcast formats. It would be smarter to wait till after the shift to buy a new one.

#92
Spider

Spider

    Arch-Mage

  • Members
  • 2172 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Pillars of Eternity Silver Backer
  • Kickstarter Backer
  • Deadfire Backer
  • Fig Backer
Depends on the motherboard. My board has one slot for PCI cards. Typically there is at least a slot or two.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users