recommendations

rokor

okay well basically. Im a 13 year old boy who loves games.I can already make maps and such for some of my multiplayer games. I think it would be really cool if i could learn how to make games and put stuff on the market. I was just wondering. What should i do? Are there websites or something that can help me reach my goal of becoming a game designer/maker or whatever. :thumbsup: basically i am asking for some help, websites, advice, things to help me become successful in the world of gaming.

stealthsig96zx.jpg

http://creators.xna.com/

A good place to get started.

If you're searching for an easier way to get started you could try...

http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/

or

http://www.blitzbasic.com/Products/_index_.php

but there is also...

http://www.garagegames.com/

Choice is yours.

You could also try your hand at making modules for Neverwinter Nights 1 or 2, or The Eldar Scrolls 3 or 4 (Morrowind & Oblivion).

RS_Silvestri_01.jpg

"I'm a programmer at a games company... REET GOOD!" - Me

ive tried the whole morrowind and oblivion thing.but i just didnt get it. ive only really been able to make maps for star wars jedi academy. but thx for the sites. ill give em a look.

stealthsig96zx.jpg

The members of the communities (Morrowind, Oblivion, even NwN(2)) will be more than welcoming to your questions (everyone was a n00b once, after all) and they are your best lead to learning the skills.

OBSCVRVM PER OBSCVRIVS ET IGNOTVM PER IGNOTIVS

ingsoc.gif

OPVS ARTIFICEM PROBAT

Yeah, if you're shooting for a design position, showing that you know your way around game editors and toolsets would no doubt be a huge boon. Morrowind, Oblivion, and NWN1 & 2 all would be good choices to dig into if you're interested in creating RPGs. NWN1 may be the easiest to learn and begin from scratch with. Try to find tutorials where you can, and use those. There's a wealth of information on the web, if you know where to look.

Here are a few links...