Baldur's Gate 2 questions

Darth Drabek

Okay, so my first "real" RPG was KOTOR. I liked it a lot, so I started playing Fallout 2. I know, I know, popular consensus is I should be shot for playing the sequel first. After KOTOR 2, I wanted to try one of the Baldur's Gate games. When people talk about great RPGs, they seem to be the gold standard (except on these boards where Fallout seems to reign supreme).

Anyway, I downloaded the demo of BG 2: Shadows of Amn and I had a few questions. First, some lines are spoken and others are just text (which is cool, I have nothing against reading). Is every line voice acted in the full version? I just was wondering if some of the audio files were cut for space in the demo.

Also, I'm not so good on my D&D. I "learned" it from KOTOR's feedback, and I know that system like the back of my hand. But I just don't have the knowledge about some of these things. It seems the lower the Armor class, the harder you are to hit. Then do you subtract your DEX modifer from your AC or what? Or does DEX not modify defense in this game? Do you still only get your modifier if the stat is an even number?

See, I just don't know things like that. Is there an online resource for D&D "noobs" (God, how I hate that word)? Combat seems to go reeeeally fast in BG 2 and I can't even see the attack rolls in the little dialog box to know how I'm doing... is there a full feedback feature in the game that I haven't found yet, with damage, to hit, saving throws and all that good stuff?

Thanks in advance for your helpful, non-condescending replies! :D

baby, take off your beret

everyone's a critic and most people are DJs

In these forums, I might be the only one to hate the Fallout series and love the Infinity Engine games (BG1&2, IWD1&2). Moreover, BG2 is my favourite RPG of all time!!!

To answer your questions: