Newbie can’t initiate combat, UI problem

I’m brand new to complex RPGs such as PofE. When I enter combat, I cannot figure out how to order my character to attack the bad guy. If I wait till he hits me then my guy hits back. My second character just stands there. I click on my second character, bring him right up next to the target, then click on the bad guy, but my guy still just stands there. If I equip a bow and try to fire it from a short distance, my guy just stands there. I assume there is some combination of buttons or clicks that does what I want but I have not found it. I am using the track pad on a MacBook Pro as my input device instead of a mouse.

For starters, you should be able to select all party members (check the buttons on the lower middle of the screen - one of them is "select all") and just click on the enemy afterwards - and all party members should attack that enemy. If that works then it's most likely no bug that prevents you from attacking.

You can also activate/deactivate and alter the AI of your party members. You can give them a more aggressive scriopt so that they (for example) seek and attack enemies all by themselves. Or you can make them more passive so that they only attack if they get attacked. If you switch off the AI you have to micromanage the party members all by yourself. Like - every step they do. 

Do you have a right mouse button equivalent on that trackpad? Or is it a single button?

Edited by Boeroer
  • Like 1

Deadfire Community Patch: Nexus Mods

My trackpad does have a right click option, but I have not found any use for it in this game so I have not tested it to see if it works in this game.

I found the AI button on the lower left of my screen. It allows me to turn AI on and off but I can't see how to modify it (more or less aggressive). How do I find this control option?

With AI turned on, if one of my characters is attacked, my guy attacks back. If another of my guys is not attacked, he just stands there.